Roasted Beet and Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made this exactly as written and massaged the dressing into the kale like others suggested. I did toss in some chèvre. I was not a believer in eating raw kale until I tried this salad. My husband also said he loved the flavor and texture better than "regular salad". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Takes a while to prepare since the beets need to roast over an hour. But they are soooooo good roasted! I'm not a big kale fan, it is bitter. I used almonds, walnuts and cashews. Not crazy about the cashews, next time leave out. I'll submit another review after it sits awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is just wonderful! I used kale and beets that I got from our CSA. Our bunch of kale was rather small, so I added some spinach as well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
So fresh and delicious. I love beets and this salad was so tasty. Ate it as a main course for lunch and dinner. Very nutritious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Incredibly delicious! I will make this again and again. I didn't have apple cider so I used apple juice. Also because of what I had, used pecans and pine nuts in place of cashews, regular raisins, and dried cranberries. I massaged the kale a bit with a drizzle of olive oil and salt before mixing with other items because I like my kale a bit softer. Great recipe and super versatile. The beets were a wonderful complement to the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Used spinach in place of kale (what I had in the fridge) and yellow beets. Also added the chevre before serving. Very good beat salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Left out the raisins and substituted fresh grapes for the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was surprised at how much better it was the next day when the flavors really came together. I made a few changes, only because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but they were slight. I used pecans instead of cashews and used regular raisins instead of golden, and used craisins instead of dried cherries. The roasted beets were delicious in this salad, and a great way to use up the beets from the garden. I also added about 2-3 extra beets. One other change was to the method of prep: I poured dressing (only used about 1/2) on just the kale and massaged the dressing onto the kale with my fingers. I do this with another kale salad and it really softens the kale, but doesn't make it soggy. Then I added the remaining ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States