Roasted Asparagus and Yellow Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Wow, there are a lot of flavors going on in this dish! The vegetable mix with the cheese and almonds is great on its own, but I thought the dressing was a tad strong--definitely go easy on it. I think the salad dressing mix (does that mean italian?) can be left out totally, and the lime juice taste was overpowered by the mustard. I may use red wine vinegar next time. Also a teaspoon is a lot of hot sauce, which I like, but most people can't handle. The roasting really flavors the veggies nicely. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I received ***** ratings from everyone at my dinner party. All 9 guests were attempting to tell me what was in this salad that made it so good...few discovered the secret ingredients of the dressing. I used red, yellow and green peppers and toasted pecans. In the dressing I used a some fresh chopped cilantro when adding to the salad. Everyone wanted a copy of the recipe. I will use again and again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This is fast becoming one of my favorite salads! A few changes I've made are: slivered almonds instead of sliced (more "substance" there), shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated (the grated cheese kind of "clumped up" when you mixed it in), a longer cooking time (about 18 minutes total) to get the veggies tender AND I cut the dressing recipe in half since it doesn't take much, especially since the veggies are already covered with olive oil. This salad takes some great ingredients and combines them in a way that makes them all BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Everyone who tried this seemed to love it. I thought it was good, but not as good as everyone else seemed to think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Oh wow! The mustard lime vinaigrette in this salad is wonderful! I was worried that it might be kind of "weird" but I loved it! I'm not a big garlic fan so I only used one clove. I also put a bit of the lime zest into the dressing. I cut the bell peppers into strips rather than dice, I wanted bigger chunks. I roasted the onions along with the asparagus and peppers to mellow the onion flavor as well. I poured half the dressing on the warm vegetables, then set the salad aside while the rest of my meal cooked and then added the rest just before serving along with the almonds and parmesan. I don't know what "salad seasoning mix" is but the dish tastes great without it. It came out great and I had plenty of compliments from my guests. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Follow all the advice about the dressing: only use 1/2 as much as called for & cut way back on mustard & garlic. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of italian dressing mix (for 1/2 the dressing recipe), because that's what was laying around, but any seasoning salt would probably do. If you don't use "salad seasoning mix" (whatever that is)or some other similar item, you will need to add some salt & pepper. Otherwise, I agree with all the previous reviewers; this is a colorful, delicious, and different salad--a winner all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Cut back a little bit on the dijon but not by much. Followed the recipe to the letter except my asparagus and yellow peppers roasted for a little while longer. What a delicious and beautiful salad. This is a winner and I cannot wait to make this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
The first time I made this, my husband said it was way too oily. The second time, I put the veggies in a bowl, poured just a little olive oil on top & mixed them with my hands to coat them. Then I used only 1/4 cup olive oil & half of the seasonings for the dressing. I substituted pourable Splenda for the sugar & just added some salt & ppper instead of the hot sauce & salad seasoning mix. I used chopped pecans the 2nd time, which I preferred to the almonds. Also adding some red peppers to the yellow adds to the presentation. I'd suggest checking the asparagus after 10 minutes to see how al dente or roasted you'd like them. I took another reviewer's suggestion & baked them for 18 minutes (9 minutes a side). Two other suggestions... If you want leftovers, I'd suggest doubling this recipe. Also if you refrigerate the dish, you should take it it out ahead of time as the olive oil solidifies in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Made this past weekend for a bbq with family. We all really liked it. Served with green salad, salmon & flank steak. Would make again without using all of the dressing. Didn't care for it the second day though, much better fresh on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States