Roasted Asparagus and Yellow Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Forgot the Parmesean and never missed it! This is a great way to get me eating asparagus. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I've made the dressing part of this (1/2 cup olive oil thru salad seasoning) several times for different salads and it's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I made this for my family's July 4th dinner. Everyone liked it very much. I personally thought it was delicious, although I may try a little less dijon mustard next time, as I thought it dominated the flavor of the dressing. Following the advice of some of the other reviews, I used both red and yellow peppers and substituted pecans (toasted) for the almonds. It was delicious this way and added more color. I did use a bit less onion because my family doesn't like heavy onion flavor. I didn't know what "salad seasoning mix" was either, so I used about a teaspoon of Good Seasons Roasted Garlic salad dressing mix. It was good, but I didn't think it was really necessary because the dressing tasted really flavorful before adding the seasoning. It was a really good recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I just made this for the second time and it has gone over fabulously with all of my dinner guests. I love that it can be made ahead of time. My family raved about it at Easter and last night I served it to 14 of my husband's co-workers. It was great! My only change was to hold back a little of the hot sauce in fear that perhaps some of my guests did not like things quite so spicy/hot. It is a fabulous dish to make ahead of time for a party and reserve a few toasted almonds to sprinkle on the top just before serving. I also used both red and yellow peppers to add additional color. If it hadn't been raining I would have grilled the vegetables outside instead of oven roasting for additional flavor. This is definitely a "keeper", and even worth paying a little extra for asparagus when not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Excellent. Did roast longer - 18 minutes - Everone loved it at picnic. Even better next day. My husband heated his the next day and loved it that way too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
My guests raved about this salad when I served it on Easter. Everyone wanted the recipe. I like recipes you can make a day ahead so this one worked out great and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
If less than one star was available, I would give it ! I love every ingredient in this recipe but the Red Onion ruined it. It overwhelmed it. I should have roasted the onion like someone suggested but I was afraid that the salad would be too limp. I would suggest using a Vidalia instead of a Red Onion. I made the salad exactly as written (minus the salad seasoning..I didn't know what that was either). The dressing was great.... This was my first disappointing recipe of all the zillions that I have tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This is super good! Used red pepper instead of yellow, chopped nuts instead of slices, but was fabulous and tasted like it came from a fancy deli. The dressing, though high in fat, is delicious. Could probably cut down on the amount of oil to reduce fat content. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJBOYD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I really liked this, but my wife thought it was too spicy. She did ask me to make it again without the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Made this past weekend for a bbq with family. We all really liked it. Served with green salad, salmon & flank steak. Would make again without using all of the dressing. Didn't care for it the second day though, much better fresh on the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States