Roasted Asparagus and Yellow Pepper Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was so delicious! I didn't make a cold salad with it, though--I had it right out of the oven (I roasted the onions too) and drizzled the sauce over it. I omitted the almonds, just because it would have been too hard to eat with the whole pieces of asparagus (I didn't cut it). I started with half the amount of olive oil and added about another tablespoon until it seemed the right consistency. Plus, I used stevia instead of sugar. I'll try this as a cold salad, but I love it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I roasted other vegetables too, and mixed everything with the dressing. Dressing was kind of spicy! Maybe I used more than a teaspoon of hot sauce? Very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Made this for dinner tomorrow, and I keep sneaking bites! YUM! Having made this a couple of times, I do cut the Olive Oil & Dijon in half, and I also roast all of the veggies (including the onion-helps cut down the bite), individually, to get the cooking time right. Instead of sprinkling the olive oil on the veg's, I throw them into a plastic bag, add oil, shake to coat and dump into the pan for roasting. This and the "Winter Fruit Salad with Poppyseed Dressing" from this site are the BEST SALADS EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I used a bit too much olive oil when roasting and too much dressing, so my salad was a little oily. Next time I will be more carfeul. However, the flavors are wonderful and this will be a new staple in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very Good. Like previous reviews, I found that this recipe had too much oil. Next time I would use only half as much. I also used jalapeno peppers instead of the hot sauce. It was excellent. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I've made this recipe probably 10 times now & I don't think I've ever made it the same twice. I love that it's flexible & guests ALWAYS love it & comment on how pretty it is. I always make it at Thanksgiving w/ 1 yellow & 1 orange bell pepper & at Christmad w/ 2 red. Also, the bell peppers should be sliced, in my opinion. Also, I roast the asparagus & bell peppers seperately, as the peppers are mush by the time the asparagus is done. About 20 min on the asparagus w/ only a couple tbl. Olive oil, turning once 1/2 way through. Then, remove asparagus from pan, add peppers & a drizzle more oil. Roast 10 min, turning once. I add the oil/juice liquid left in the bottom of the pan to the dressing as well. I'm always changing the dressing & it's always been good, so feel free to play w/ the ingrediants. Also, you can buy pre-packaged Honey-roasted sliced almonds & they are a fab sub for plain sliced. When serving a lg crowd, I will often double the asparagus, w/o doubling the rest of the ingrediants & the proportions actually seem to be better that way & there'll be enough for 15 ppl to have small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I wish I had listened to LoosenUp & stuck w/ the original roasting time but I cooked them a little longer than called for ... Yep, they were overdone. Still tasty but no longer al dente. I used a red pepper becasue that's what I had & I sliced it imto strips instead of chopping it. I used a vidalia onion, thinly sliced (I did not roast the onion) & I cut wayyy back on the oil in the vinaigrette. I did add more lime juice & also decreased the mustard some. Very nice cold salad! the roasting really brought out the flavor in the veggies. I served thsi w/ Amy's Garlic Egg Chicken (from this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is my first review of a recipe on this site. I read other reviews and roasted the red onions along with the asparagus, red and yellow peppers. It was awesome. My husband and 3 year old daughter loved it. I will try to grill the veggies next time. The dressing was yummy- only a few dashes of hot sauce so my daughter could enjoy it as well. Will use the dressing for a regular salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Do what the original recipe says and roast for only 8-10 minutes. I thought the vinaigrette was boring...not sure what I missed because it should have been great with all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Forgot the Parmesean and never missed it! This is a great way to get me eating asparagus. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States