Roasted Asparagus and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Not our favorite. Too much wine and the garlic needs to be crushed. I might try this again with less wine and add some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This gets a major thumbs down. I usually have asparagus just steamed with a bit of butter and lemon. This recipe does asparagus a disservice. The favor is bland and has a bitter edge. I tried using fines herbes when steaming in the packet but it didn't help. I will not make this again. I like the steaming in a foil pouch concept but I would try it simply with a bit a water of vegetable broth and a lemon wedge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This was pretty good. I had to bake it @ 450 because that's the temp my other things were baking at. It turned out stringy and sort of slimy at parts. Good idea, but I think I'll just steam it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
My family thought this was a good way to make asparagus. I only had a can and I didn't know how to make it so I tried this way. As far as canned asparagus goes this was pretty good. I put everything in a foil pack and put on the grill for a few minutes until it was warmed. If I ever get another can of asparagus I will make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I didn't care for this at all. Sure, the cleanup was easy, but I would rather eat something that tastes decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Okay. Asparagus cooked much faster than garlic, so cloves weren't really edible. I threw all in one package and replaced white wine with red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I didn't care for this recipe. Being winter I tried it on my Foreman grill. Thought it was bland. Will stick w/ my tried-and-true steamed and topped w/ garlic vinaigrette dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was quite good. I left out the wine because I didn't have any and overcooked it by mistake and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is great! Love it, love it, love it! For those people who didn't like it, I'm betting that you don't like asparagus to begin with. Hey, I don't like peas -- I wouldn't expect some great recipe to change that! LOL So, if you like asparagus, give this a try -- definitely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Good, but it needs tweaking. The wine was a little too strong in the flavor, and it needs more spicing. I did add some garlic salt to the recipe, which I think helped, but it needed more salt, amongst other things. Next time I'll also stick it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to give it more of a roasted taste. I'll have to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States