Roasted Asparagus and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Tons of flavor!! Instead of wraping the asparagus in individual bundles, I put them in a baking dish and covered them. I will absolutely make this again, although maybe next time cut the garlic a little. Think I'll keep my distance from my co-workers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
My fiance and I were very impressed with this recipe. I didn't make mine with thyme or cloves of garlic. Instead, I used minced garlic, about 1 1/2 cup and poured white cooking wine in the bag. The flavor was FANTASTIC, especially if you're a garlic lover, as we are. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I minced the garlic and only used about 10 cloves. Used a few tsp of crushed thyme rather than fresh. Added some salt and pepper. I prefer asparagus on the crisp side, so I would decrease the baking time next time to 15-18 minutes. Served with whole wheat couscous and Parmesan cheese for a vegetarian meal. As a meal, this recipe made 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I was trying to imitate an asparagus dish I had at a restaurant, and this was it! The only things I did differently were substituted wine with a drizzle of butter because I didn't have any wine...and I added cashew peices because it seemed like it would go well with the dish--and it did! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is great! Love it, love it, love it! For those people who didn't like it, I'm betting that you don't like asparagus to begin with. Hey, I don't like peas -- I wouldn't expect some great recipe to change that! LOL So, if you like asparagus, give this a try -- definitely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I made this on Easter Sunday to go with my roasted leg of lamb & it was awesome. I was a little nervous to serve it to our guests from Idaho (where asparagus grows wild) but they LOVED it! I made one big batch only because I found out too late that I didn't have enough foil to split it up. It was perfect except it needed salt & it tasted AWESOME reheated or even cold the next day too! I'll definitely make this again. Thanks Robyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE88310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Good, but it needs tweaking. The wine was a little too strong in the flavor, and it needs more spicing. I did add some garlic salt to the recipe, which I think helped, but it needed more salt, amongst other things. Next time I'll also stick it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to give it more of a roasted taste. I'll have to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe, I omitted the wine and use dried thyme instead of fresh and salted a bite when done. I also cooked a little longer until the garlic carmelized more, it was fabulouse! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Not our favorite. Too much wine and the garlic needs to be crushed. I might try this again with less wine and add some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My other half said it was the best asparagus I ever made! Personally I would have liked a little stronger garlic flavor and I thought it a tad bitter. Maybe the addition of a sprinkle of garlic powder and a sweeter white wine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States