Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very delightful dish. Thank you for the recipe - a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My kids love brussel sprouts, but we always eat them steamed. I was looking for a way to change things up a bit and given the good reviews, thought I would try this. Nobody, in my family of 4, liked this recipe. Bummer, too, since we had such high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I loved this, my husband did not. The brussels apple ratio was off... way more apple and I only did 1.5- great idea thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I rarely assign 5 stars, because it means there is zero room for improvement. I have given this recipe one of my coveted 5-star ratings, as I truly don't see any way to make it better. Starting with the frozen Brussels sprouts. I urge you not to think you will improve this recipe by using fresh. Unless you are pulling them from your own garden, Brussels sprouts are never truly fresh, and they rapidly deteriorate once harvested. If you MUST use fresh, be sure to at least use the ones that come still attached to the stalk. The reason they sell them that way is because of the rapid deterioration these vegetable experience once harvested. This is also why so many people think they don't like Brussels sprouts! Just be sure you thaw them first. Use your microwave defroster to speed this process. The original recipe here has conflicting instructions on that point (see the footnote). I assure you that you want them to be thawed. The misture of apples and onions into this recipe is perfect, and the lemon adds a nice tang. As the orignal recipe notes in the footnotes, you can adjust roasting time for desired doneness. I find that 40 mintues produces a better result, turning the vegetables every 10-15 minutes for even browning. You want them slightly darkened and carmelized. I am experimenting with using the convection feature of our oven to see if I can acheive this effect quicker. Best to use non-stick foil to line your roasting pan to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is great. Only thing I did different was use fresh brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare! I used fresh brussels sprouts and cut them in half... came out great. I am glad to have a brussels sprouts recipe that doesn't include bacon or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I didn't care for this combo. I used only half of a lemon, and it was already overpowering the flavors. Apples turned mushy. I'm not keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Amazing. I made with fresh brussel sprouts. The secret to making them good is to cut out the choke. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good. All I had was lemon juice, so I drizzled that over all at the end. All 4 adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States