Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I had high hopes for this combination. The apples and onions were good but the b sprouts were mushy. I only made half the recipe...good thing since no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was awesome. We deoured it, nothing left at all. I will be making this many more times. I think even my son would like brussel sprouts this way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
So good! Who knew apples and brussels would go together so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Too much lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very delightful dish. Thank you for the recipe - a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My kids love brussel sprouts, but we always eat them steamed. I was looking for a way to change things up a bit and given the good reviews, thought I would try this. Nobody, in my family of 4, liked this recipe. Bummer, too, since we had such high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I loved this, my husband did not. The brussels apple ratio was off... way more apple and I only did 1.5- great idea thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I rarely assign 5 stars, because it means there is zero room for improvement. I have given this recipe one of my coveted 5-star ratings, as I truly don't see any way to make it better. Starting with the frozen Brussels sprouts. I urge you not to think you will improve this recipe by using fresh. Unless you are pulling them from your own garden, Brussels sprouts are never truly fresh, and they rapidly deteriorate once harvested. If you MUST use fresh, be sure to at least use the ones that come still attached to the stalk. The reason they sell them that way is because of the rapid deterioration these vegetable experience once harvested. This is also why so many people think they don't like Brussels sprouts! Just be sure you thaw them first. Use your microwave defroster to speed this process. The original recipe here has conflicting instructions on that point (see the footnote). I assure you that you want them to be thawed. The misture of apples and onions into this recipe is perfect, and the lemon adds a nice tang. As the orignal recipe notes in the footnotes, you can adjust roasting time for desired doneness. I find that 40 mintues produces a better result, turning the vegetables every 10-15 minutes for even browning. You want them slightly darkened and carmelized. I am experimenting with using the convection feature of our oven to see if I can acheive this effect quicker. Best to use non-stick foil to line your roasting pan to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is great. Only thing I did different was use fresh brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States