Roasted Apple Curried Chicken with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
not a very good recipe, I thought it was too spicy! The rice takes alot more than three cups of water to cook properly and the chicken did not absorb any of the taste. If I cooked this meal again I would cut the cayenne in half and cover the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
All the ingredients were there, it just needed some tweaking. I used all the same ingredients but I used a cut up fryer, sprinked about a teaspoon of salt on it and used white rice instead of brown. I bumped the heat up to 350 and changed the time to 1 hour and covered it with foil for the first half hour, then uncovered for the second half. The use of the curry, honey and the apples made the dish so flavorful and fall-like I served it with some acorn squash...It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
After the 5 hrs the chicken wasn't done and the rice was stiil crunchy I don't think this recipe was worth all that went into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
not the best thing in the world to make please try other recipes for chicken before you do this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
My Rice did not fully cook with the chicken. definitely needs salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Smelled good while cooking, but this had VERY LITTLE FLAVOR. Definitely disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I was extremely disappointed with this recipe. I regularly roast spice rubbed chickens for 5 hours, so I just thought this would be a nice change of pace. The chicken itself was edible. The filling was more like a paste than rice, one that was too earthy with not even a hint of the honey/maple flavor remaining. The apple pieces no longer tasted anything like apples. I also truly love spicy foods, but this recipe had all of the heat that I love with none of the flavor to make the heat worthwhile. I've been faithfully using allrecipes.com for about 5 years now, and this is the first recipe that I consider beyond help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This recipe was too spicy. The chicken meat was great, but the skin and the rice was very very spicy. I had backed off on some of the spices already and whish I would have followed my instinct and backed off more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Much too spicy for my tastes - I think this is way too heavy on the red pepper. Wasn't thrilled with the taste even though I love almost any curry dish. I don't think I would try this again even with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Very good! My husband loved it, but I found it a little hot for my tastes. Next time I would cut back on the spices quite a bit. It is definately worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States