Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Used coconut milk instead of yogurt, used 4 cups veg broth instead of 6, and upped the curry powder to taste (doubled or tripled, probably). Very good! Will definitely make again and again. And do roast the veggies first - it makes the flavors much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was my first attempt at Squash soup and I have to say it was much easier than I thought it would be thanks to this recipe! I did make a few changes.. Had no vegetable broth so substituted low sodium chicken broth. I added an extra teaspoon of curry powder and extra teaspoon of brown sugar (as the particular squash I used wasn't the sweetest one ever) and a cube of frozen ginger. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper. After tasting the soup I thought it was good and then I added about a cup of coconut milk and it became GREAT! :) The coconut milk added the depth of flavour and creaminess that it needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made several changes to the recipe, based on the suggestions of others. I used only 2 cups of vegetable broth and dropped the yogurt, but added a can of coconut milk instead. I added a handful of fresh cilantro to the blender as I was pureeing the mixture, then upped the curry powder to 2 tsp, upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp, and added a pinch of ground ginger. I also left off the oregano, nutmeg, parsley, and bay leaf. I used sour cream and extra cilantro for garnish. With all these changes, FABULOUS soup. My husband loved it. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I made so many changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've never reviewed a recipe before. I have used and enjoyed many recipes, yet never felt compelled to review any of them.....this recipe changes everything! I made it exactly as indicated, except I added two chopped "Granny Smith" apples to the mix prior to the "Puree" step...This soup is absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
this is my kind of cold weather comfort food! delicious. i kicked it up with 1 1/2 tsp curry powder and added some cumin as well. a dollop of yogurt is just the right compliment. definitely going in my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggedoutPixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this and unfortunately am learning about the curdling nature of yogurt. I'm not sure if it's because it's non-fat yougurt, but pretty certain. I'm going to nix the health nut in me and either add full fat yogurt or coconut milk next time. Still a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
excellent soup. I didn't have vegetable broth, so used chicken. Added some diced pork roast to my bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I found this recipe a bit bland so I added almost a tablespoon of curry and about the same amount of fish sauce for saltiness. I also used coconut milk and still needed yogurt for some more depth of flavor. This is my first squash soup, so I might not have had the right flavor expectation. Also, since I added the coconut milk, I only used 4 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this soup to be far too sweet for my taste, and that was even before adding any brown sugar. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I put in less brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg, pending a taste test--I thought it sounded too sweet. I held out the brown sugar altogether, and added a little over half of the cinnamon and nutmeg. It looked yummy, but I took about three bites and dumped the whole pot down the drain, something I've never done before. Seems like I'm going to have to keep looking for the perfect curry squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This soup was awesome!!! I followed the recipe of one of the other reviewers, which added cilantro and heavy whipping cream, it also didn't put the brown sugar in. I used a buttercup squash instead of the butternut that it asked for. I go to this website often to get ideas and recipes and this is by far the best recipe I've found yet! I will definitly use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States