Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Not a keeper for me. I followed the recipe exactly but no one in my family found this to be a particularly delicious soup. It was just okay, nothing wrong with it, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I prepared this using Amanda L's suggestions. I worried the soup would be too sweet but the sour cream with lime zest and chopped cilantro was a perfect balance. Absolutely use FRESH ingredients, grind your own cinnamon and nutmeg to make this soup perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I roasted the veggies the night before and then put in refrigerator ready to be pureed the next day. Very delicious - everyone loved - and doing that step the day before made it far easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was all good (too soupy tho) until I added the yogurt when it got all these white specks. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is such a delicious soup!! I use a couple cups less of the broth so I have a bit thicker soup. It's so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Doucette Legge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Followed exactly as written, except for the yogurt at the end, didn't have plain yogurt. I guess it was the curry, but it was too much of a smoky flavor for us. Next time I'll omit that and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Roasting the vegetables really gave this something special. I was complaining about the level of work to put in to this recipe but at the end of the day, I was in heaven with my favorite soup. I cut back on the last cup of vegetable broth as 5 cups seemed like plenty and the extra may have made it too watery. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I make a lot of soups, this is a wonderful soup, that is restaurant quality. I did leave out the brown sugar because I roasted the squash giving it a sweeter flavour than if you cooked it another way (boiling). I also sauteed the onion and garlic, no special reason, would try them roasted another time. I also used coconut milk instead of yogurt which gave it a creamier mellow flavour. This recipe is a gift to soup lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really good and easy soup. I had to amp up the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup is fantastic! I doubled the spices and because I had no yogurt I substituted low fat sour cream. I'm planning on using this recipe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States