Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
WOnderful, light and filling. I think it needs more spice than the recipe calls for, so when I make it again, I will beef up the curry and cinnamon. Or maybe try it with garam masala.....mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe was amazing! Roasting the butternut squash, onions, and garlic gave it such a rich and comforting taste. I made the following modifications: I cut the broth down to 4 cups, excluded the yogurt (to make nondairy), and added a pinch of nutmeg. During the blending process (in my vitamix) I added about 2 cups of the broth, then added the remaining 2 cups while simmering on the stove. Make This!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It's quite good. I sped up the process by cooking the squash in the microwave first. Added one chopped apple with the onion & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonwaterBarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made this tonight for the first time. Really great flavor -- perfect for a chilly November evening. I used only 5 cups of broth for a thicker soup. It worked, but it might have been a little TOO thick. Your mileage may vary. I'd definitely take the other reviewers' advice and use coconut milk instead of yogurt next time -- the yogurt tends to clump when you put it into the hot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really loved this one. I had to tweak it, though since I only had 1/2 of a butternut squash and had forgotten to pick another up. I had 1/2 of a butternut squash and added 1 sweet potato and 1 potato to it. I followed the recipe then, but also added some grilled chicken to it. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This soup is so incredible, I could not believe I made it myself. It's rich, flavorful and filling--A perfect low calorie snack for a fall day. I made this once but I am making it again and doubling the recipe so I don't run out so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add a little more brown sugar and curry powder, but that's my own personal taste. It is heavy on onion flavor, but that could have also been my vegetable broth. I didn't add the yogurt to the soup, because I wasn't serving it right away, but I did add a nice healthy dollop of sour cream after I heated up a bowl and sprinkled some pepitas on top for crunch factor. Lovely and perfect for the fall days ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This soup was delicious. I added about a 1-2" piece of ginger to the roasting veggies, used 5 cups of broth instead of 6 and used coconut milk instead of yogurt. Otherwise did everything as per the recipe. Delicious! The whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
WOW this soup is delicious!! The roasted veges make all the difference. I did the garlic in a roaster with a slight drizzle of olive oil (don't know if that affects the taste at all - probably not), and because I am low-carb but not low-fat, I used about 3/4 bar of philly cream cheese instead of yogurt. My VERY picky 8 year old couldn't get enough of this soup!!! First time eating it, and already a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am so happy to have found this soup! I recently had it at a wedding and fell in love. One clarification question: Does the yogurt go into the entire recipe or is it used simply as a garnish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States