Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Fantastic taste, quickly became a favorite. Easy to make, I make it often as I am making supper to freeze for lunches. If freezing I have found it best to leave out the yogurt until after it is re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
It was easy to make and really tasty. I would add more curry next time, but I like it spicy. It will be a soup I make often. Even my meat eating boyfriend was satisfied with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Loved this recipe! Used chicken broth and more squash because I had two on hand, and one reviewer said the recipe was runny. Added a teeny more broth/curry when all was done. Left everthing else as is. Wonderful low fat recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Did this last night and it came out great. I never knew butternut squash tasted soo good! I didn't add curry/bay leaf, but I may do that tonight but just to my serving. I didn't have yogurt, so I used a bit of half and half. Very soothing (almost Nostalgic becuase once it's blended it reminds you of baby food!! Great recipe. I'm looking for a good (quick and easy) sandwich to make to go along with it. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I bought some squash at a farmer's market, without ever having made it before. I tried this recipie and really liked it. I only tweaked it a little....I used two squash, instead of one, because mine were small. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I didn't have brown sugar (how do you run out of brown sugar???), so I used a package of sweetener instead. I kept that spices the same. It came out really well. I love the curry taste in it. I used yogurt with it, which was good, but it was also good without it. My husband didn't like it...but he doesn't know what's good for him! I had two bowls today and I"m going to freeze the rest. A very healthy, yummy recipie for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Great recipe! This was the first time that I made a squash soup and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This soup came out great. I did make a couple of changes based on what I had on hand. I din't use cinnamon, and added some ground sage and ginger, and used fat free half and half and 1% milk instead of yogurt. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. Also, when roasting the vegetables, I would suggest not adding the onions until half-way through, as mine were a bit burned. Also, my blender was not cooperating to puree this, so I ended up just using a potato masher. It's not quite as smooth, but still excellent. Will definitely makes this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This was wonderful. Though next time I'll add the brown sugar and spices slowly, tasting after each addition. The other spices were a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I made this as the first course at a dinner party and everybody absolutely loved it. The only variation I made to the original recipe was that I put twice as much yogurt in. This was actually a total accident, but it still turned out great. Finally, I couldn't imagine taking out the cinnamon or garlic as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States