Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I love butternut squash and also loved the seasonings in this recipe, but I did not like them together. Butternut, naturally has a a delicious sweet and light flavor that was completely overpowered by everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Made just a few changes: Added (roasted) 1 inch piece fresh ginger, used 4 C. chicken broth and 1 C heavy cream after it was done simmering. I don't usually eat much soup, but this was BEAUTIFUL. Complex flavors, a little bit savory, a little bet sweet. It was a wonderful thing. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was really tasty. I think I added significantly more butternut squash (3 small-medium sized), and only 4c of organic salt-free vegetable broth. Overall, the soup was a nice consistency and had a good flavor. I haven't added any yogurt to it, as I'd like to add that as I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I am a chef in a Manhattan Resturant, and we have recently received several requests for pumpkin or squash soup. I searched the internet, and I liked this recipe because of the roasted squash- this makes a huge difference in flavor. Let me tell you what I did for the resturant, and how I modified it at home for my family. First, for the resturant: 2.5 lbs (40 oz) of butternut squash, peeled and seeded 2 large yellow onions, quartered 6 cloves of peeled garlic 1 2" piece of fresh ginger, peeled and cut into 4 chunks 2 cups of chicken stock 2 cups of heavy cream 2 tsps of salt 1 tsp of white pepper 1 tsp of medium curry powder 2 tbs. of chopped fresh cilantro 1 tsp. of cinnamon Sour cram and cilantro for garnish 1. Roast squash, onions, garlic and ginger until brown and soft- over an hour, depending on your oven 2. Puree in your blender or food processor with chicken stock until completely smooth. Should be done in batches. 3. Heat on medium heat- add salt, pepper, curry, 1 tbs. of cilantro, and cinnamon (cinnamon can be a spice that enhances sweet or savory dishes- don't be afraid of it!). While the mixture is hot, but before it bubbles, slowly add the heavy cream. Add until it is the desired color and thickness for your taste, and allow mixture to bubble. Lower the heat, and continue to cook on low flame for another 10 minutes. Remove from heat, and let rest for 10 minutes. Before serving, add a dollup of sour cream and sprinkle the rest of the fresh cilanto on t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I cooked this recipe exactly as indicated for 6 people. No one enjoied it, and several of them like butternut squash soup. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
excellent ....even better left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have never make butternut squash soup and was skeptical to try but I am sure glad that I did. I followed the recipe as it was written except I used low fat sour cream instead of the yogurt. I like that fact that it was low in calories, fat and extremely healthy soup. The curry blended very well together with all the ingrediants. Thank you for posting this well balanced comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Sorry, this soup went uneaten at my house. I had to throw most of it out. We even have sophisticated palates. I will go on with my search for a good squash/pumpkin soup my family will enjoy. My 19 year old said she would rather it be a bit more savory and didn't care for the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
AMAZING SOUP! I agree with the previous reviewer (Danielle), that one should stir or blend in the yogurt - it didn't totally blend in. Otherwise, absolutely phenomenal soup. Definitely will make it again - maybe even for the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
WOW is this good and did i ever feel proud of myself as my friends told me how delicious it was! ONE THING I would do different is to really give the yogurt a good STIRRING befor i added it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States