Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
When roasting, add a touch of olive oil to the veggies. Used chopped, bagged butternut squash. Roast for the same amount of time as the onion and garlic, about 50 minutes. Can use Lean Cream instead of yogurt. Used 1/2 as much brown sugar as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is fantastic! I used two small squashes and brushed them with olive oil before roasting. I added about 2 tsp of smoked paprika and mixed in a little cream in each bowl before eating. I've never been so happy that my boyfriend hates soup and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Gave this 4 stars because I changed a few things, but with my changes it's 5 stars. I skip the oregano, yogurt (though I tried it once with sour cream at the table but it really didn't need it) and the brown sugar (the squash is usually sweet enough), and use garam masala instead of cinnamon. I think it's a really flexible, forgiving base recipe and the two times I've made it so far it's been a huge hit. Also, I drizzle pumpkin seed oil over it at the end, along with some toasted pumpkin or squash seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I used 1 cup of coconut cream (the solid part when coconut milk separates in the can) instead of milk. I used veggie broth too (my aunt is a sikh so she's vegetarian). We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was an Awesome soup. I only changed the recipe in a few ways going by the previous reviews. I used ground ginger ( I wanted to roast some ginger with the veggies, but forgot, I will do this when I make again) I used 2 cups of light coconut milk instead of the sour cream. Added red pepper flakes for a little spiciness, and garnished with Parmesan and Romano croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Going back to my usual Curried Butternut Squash Soup. Made this exact to recipe and had to doctor it way too much (all that do say the rating is based on original recipe and not my additions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Really tasty soup. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very good, but I think it would have been better if I had used a larger squash. NO where in the reviews does anyone say what size they used -- at least I couldn't find any. Around here our butternut squashs range from 2-8 lbs. I pick a 3lb squash but i think it should have been larger. The large onions overwhelmed the squash flavor and 6 C broth would have been WAY too much. I used 4 cups. I think it's a poorly written recipes when it doesn't specifiy the amount of the main ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
WOnderful, light and filling. I think it needs more spice than the recipe calls for, so when I make it again, I will beef up the curry and cinnamon. Or maybe try it with garam masala.....mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe was amazing! Roasting the butternut squash, onions, and garlic gave it such a rich and comforting taste. I made the following modifications: I cut the broth down to 4 cups, excluded the yogurt (to make nondairy), and added a pinch of nutmeg. During the blending process (in my vitamix) I added about 2 cups of the broth, then added the remaining 2 cups while simmering on the stove. Make This!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States