Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used the modifications suggested by Amanda L., the chef in Manhattan (first post). It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a hit with my family. A very tasty and heartwarming recipe for a cold day. Our family loves moderately spicy food, so I doubled all the spices and used a hot curry paste instead of curry powder. Also, I had no plain yogurt in the house, so I added 1 tbs of fat free sour cream to each bowl of soup and garnished with a sprig of cilantro. Will definitely add to my list of favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richards Bay, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Love this recipe. I felt it was rather quick and easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
yuck, I must have made it wrong but it had no flavour and I didn't think the roasting did anything for this soup. I will take the blame for this one though because i used chicken stock and probably didn't blend enough. i won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I didnt add the yogurt, cause quite frankly it didnt really need it. I bet if I did add it, it would just make it even better though. It is so low fat, low carb, and very tasty..I am glad I found it. Just started a diet and it is my new fave! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Dont look at the stars i gave it, I havent made it yet :) What would we think of adding dry sherry to this? Discuss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaLu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Yummy! And this is one of the healthier of the Butternut soups out there-which is why I chose to cook this one. I also roasted an apple with the other veggies and added 1/2tsp of powdered ginger (no fresh on hand). I used Greek yogurt (it's much more creamy) and a dollop of 1/2&1/2-which really wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It was OK at first. I made the same changes suggested by SEVERAL reviewers, and it is really necessary for this soup to be good. 1) Add coconut milk during cooking, this makes an incredible difference, not a lot but enough to taste it 2) DO use the yogurt at the end ... it cuts through the soup and really MAKES the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is absolutely the most delicious soup I've ever eaten. I didn't follow the recipe very closely but the idea of making a base from roasted squash and other veggies it brilliant. The roasted squash is incredibly sweet and loaded with flavor. I used an organic butternut squash. I also roasted an onion, a couple cloves of garlic, a half a jalapeno pepper and a red pepper. I blended them all with just a little coconut milk and chicken broth and heated it up. I also stirred in a couple of spoonfuls of Patek's curry paste. I have a feeling this soup is very adaptable and foolproof. I will make it again repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fugi S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States