Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'm eating this right now. It's delicious. I made one change: I used coconut milk (lite) instead of yogurt and part of the veg broth. It's very flavourful. (Also used cumin, coriander, paprika instead of oregano, cinnamon, nutmeg (guess that's more than one change.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Pit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Not a keeper for me. I followed the recipe exactly but no one in my family found this to be a particularly delicious soup. It was just okay, nothing wrong with it, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I prepared this using Amanda L's suggestions. I worried the soup would be too sweet but the sour cream with lime zest and chopped cilantro was a perfect balance. Absolutely use FRESH ingredients, grind your own cinnamon and nutmeg to make this soup perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I roasted the veggies the night before and then put in refrigerator ready to be pureed the next day. Very delicious - everyone loved - and doing that step the day before made it far easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was all good (too soupy tho) until I added the yogurt when it got all these white specks. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is such a delicious soup!! I use a couple cups less of the broth so I have a bit thicker soup. It's so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Doucette Legge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Followed exactly as written, except for the yogurt at the end, didn't have plain yogurt. I guess it was the curry, but it was too much of a smoky flavor for us. Next time I'll omit that and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Roasting the vegetables really gave this something special. I was complaining about the level of work to put in to this recipe but at the end of the day, I was in heaven with my favorite soup. I cut back on the last cup of vegetable broth as 5 cups seemed like plenty and the extra may have made it too watery. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I make a lot of soups, this is a wonderful soup, that is restaurant quality. I did leave out the brown sugar because I roasted the squash giving it a sweeter flavour than if you cooked it another way (boiling). I also sauteed the onion and garlic, no special reason, would try them roasted another time. I also used coconut milk instead of yogurt which gave it a creamier mellow flavour. This recipe is a gift to soup lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really good and easy soup. I had to amp up the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States