Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
The best part of making this soup was the delicious aroma of the roasting squash, onions and garlic. Extremely flavorful and quite easy to make. Not a drop of soup was left after I took it to a large pot-luck lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This soup is okay. It's quite similar to an excellent recipe that was passed on to me from a friend and which I later found in Vegetarian Classics by Jeanne Lemlin. I prefer the latter recipe which I've modified a little and which includes coconut milk and fresh ginger. I recommend substituting the yogurt with coconut milk; nixing the oregano, cinnamon and nutmeg and bayleaf and instead using extra garlic, 1 inch of fresh ginger root (finely minced), and 1 -2 T. of sweet curry powder and a dash of cayenne pepper for bite. This soup will knock your socks off. It's gotten rave reviews everywhere I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Delicious! It was worth the work. The roasted garlic and onions tasted very good in the soup. This is my second time to make it for a group of 13 and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This is a great full bodied soup with complex flavors. It's not a quick and easy recipe but it's well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Pretty good recipie for what it was. Think roasting vegetables was a great idea. I left out the brown sugar and still thought the soup was a bit sweet. Would've liked more curry or spicyness or something to add bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was good but, sorry Lesley, NOT worth the extra time and effort to roast the veggies. I have made many butternut squash soup recipes and this one was not the best. (I added extra curry for more kick too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I loved it and I gave it to my 9 mo. old before adding spices and he liked it as well...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
made pot roast last night and added extra root veggies (turnip,carrot,potato, and parsnip) and roasted the squash, used half the squash and two cups of the veggies, turned out great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
too sweet....could be good for a awful flu or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
AWESOME!!! I just love squash soup, this one is a healthy keeper!!! I used 'World's Greatest Vegetable Broth' found on allrecipes.com for my vegetable stock, it is HEAVENLY, and compliments this recipe well! (I try to avoid store-bought stock because of all the salt.) I doubled the curry (and I used Sharwood's extra-hot curry, and it really wasn't overpowering, just gave it a nice mellow flavour, if you can beleive it) and I alse added some baked apples and carrots to the puree. Tastes great even without the yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States