Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
UPDATE 10/13/11 No matter how much I make this, I never tire of it. I decided to add some diced macoon apple but did not puree, nor did I peel them. gave bits of color and that bite of sweet apple lends to the savoriness of the soup. No oregano..i always sub a bit of fresh cilantro. Excellent! Perfect for a cool fall day. Recipe followed exactly except omitted the oregano, upped the curry to 1 1/2 tsp.,and didn't add yogurt directly to soup; just used a dollop to garnish the individual bowl. Used cilantro instead of parsley out of personal preference. Used Lawry's salt instead of regular. I used 2-15 oz. cans of broth. Important to remember that each squash has a different water content so adjust accordingly. The buttercup used didn't have a high water content so added broth after everything else was pureed and added to the stockpot. Since the squash was exceptionally sweet, I didn't need to add brown sugar. The dollop of yogurt added a nice creamy touch. Thank you for this wonderful fall recipe that I'll make seasons to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This soup was really runny, not creamy or smooth. The yogurt didnt help much either and never melted right. It stayed in tiny chunks even after mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Felt like something was missing. A little too strong on the garlic side, lost the butternut squash taste a bit. Still prefer this over sweet squash recipes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I forgot to add in the yogurt before I tasted it, but it was still good. This soup warms you up on a cool night. Next time I'll add more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
YUM! A few things: I almost omitted the roasted garlic because I didn't have any on hand, but I'm so glad I made the trip to the store. I think it's what really makes this soup. Also, I didn't realize I was out of curry until it was too late, but it turned out great despite that. Like some others, I also substituted half and half for the yogurt and only 1/2 cup. It was perfect. A very rich soup - a bowel of this along with half a turkey and cheddar on cracked wheat and I was mighty satisfied. I love fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is great! i added a bit of ground cloves and paprika, it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
If you make this recipe, be prepared to dirty every dish in your house! It was well worth it though. I was trying to find a squash soup recipe that did not have cream or milk in it and I came across this one. It turned out amazing. I added some paprika for a little extra color and flavor. Hubby liked it so much, he wanted to make sure it went in my cookbook of recipes I make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Overall good results. I was a little disappointed that more garlic flavor didn't come out, but I did double the curry and simmered it with a piece of ginger which I removed at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Not enough curry powder in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Fantastic taste, quickly became a favorite. Easy to make, I make it often as I am making supper to freeze for lunches. If freezing I have found it best to leave out the yogurt until after it is re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States