Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I didn't have to tweak this recipe very much, and it was SO GOOD. I did do some things differently because I didn't have oregano - I used 1 tsp. pizza seasoning. Also, I used another reviewer's advice and added 1/4 cup coconut milk in place of the brown sugar, although NOT in place of the plain yogurt. I didn't put in 6 cups of veggie broth, I actually slowly added enough until it was to MY desired soupiness. I did double the curry and added 1 tsp red pepper flakes because I need the heat. I garnished with CILANTRO, because it's so much more fitting and compliments this soup better than parsley. I have three male roommates, two who took the leftovers to work today, and one who said this was the best soup he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I have tried this recipe and got a 5star rating from the neighborhood when I served this soup in our mini fiesta at the clubhouse. I personally love the taste and so the rest too! They said they only taste this kind of soup from a 5 star hotel. whoaaa... I made some changes though, like i put fresh coconut milk (abound in the Philippines)instead of yogurt. I found no parsley and nutmeg so I have to let go of these ingredients. I have no weighing scale so I just estimate an equivalent. No vegetable broth too so I use seafoods broth and reduced it to 6 liters. I add flour too to make it thick. FANTASTIC!!! thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madgenet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
It was allright i think, but next time i will make a few changes. I think the soup was far too thin, so next time i will use 2/3rds of the broth that you reccomended. I will also omitt the cinnamon (as i dont like it all that much), and MAKE SURE the vegetable broth i use isnt too strong, otherwise it kinda swamps the butternut squash flavour. Oh and guys, i dont care how many people say it, using double the amount of curry powder would totally over-take the flavour of the squash. Oh and i used chopped cilantro for garnish, because cilantro is always a better herb to use for curry-like dishes. Oh and also, another reason i gave it 2 stars, is because when i added the yoghurt, and stirred it, the yoghurt just ended up in little spots, and didnt blend in correctly. So presentation-wise it was a bit of a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I loved this soup! Just bought a fresh jar of curry powder which made the soup really potent; just the way I like it; nice and spicey! I'm not crazy about sweet soups, so I left out the sugar. Delicious Lesley and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The roasted veggies made this soup delicous. I also used the coconut milk instead of yougart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Okay, I must confess,I've made this twice and it's a keeper! 1st time I made it, I started off by accident NOT reading the recipe, and cut the veggies, sticking it in a pot with vegetable stock and while it was boiling away proceeded to read the recipe... Well, after all of that, it turned out terrific! My husband proclaimed it his favorite, yet! Then 2 weeks later, I roasted the veggies and must admit it was even better than the first time! So, if you don't want to "mess" with roasting as some have suggested- don't- boil it and run it through the blender/food processor and you'll have a definite keeper recipe! But if you are patient and roast everything, you will be rewarded handsomely for your effort! My husband and I thank you for this terrific, low cal meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Wonderful! I used two medium squash since recipe didnt specify size of the one, also I upped the curry powder and used coconut milk at the advice of another review, in place of yogurt because I didnt have any. But these were my own person variations... This is just a great recipe with a perfect blend of spices. Other reviewers mentioned it being annoying to roast the veggies or that it dirtied all of their dishes but to the contrary I dirtied very few dishes and how hard is it to cut a few veggies and stick 'em on a cookie sheet? Only problem I had was being to imatient to let them cool before I scooped them into processor! Ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Roasting always brings out the natural sweetness. I added a little cayenne pepper and some Garam Masala (an Indian spice) to make it nice and spicy. Loved the yogurt in it, my husband omitted it. The yogurt really provided a nice cool contrast to the spicy soup. Very Weight Watchers friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I feel something is missing. It wasn't creamy as I was hoping. Although, my husband thought it tasted healthy. I think I'll keep looking for more recipe of butternut squash with more creamy and sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
UPDATE 10/13/11 No matter how much I make this, I never tire of it. I decided to add some diced macoon apple but did not puree, nor did I peel them. gave bits of color and that bite of sweet apple lends to the savoriness of the soup. No oregano..i always sub a bit of fresh cilantro. Excellent! Perfect for a cool fall day. Recipe followed exactly except omitted the oregano, upped the curry to 1 1/2 tsp.,and didn't add yogurt directly to soup; just used a dollop to garnish the individual bowl. Used cilantro instead of parsley out of personal preference. Used Lawry's salt instead of regular. I used 2-15 oz. cans of broth. Important to remember that each squash has a different water content so adjust accordingly. The buttercup used didn't have a high water content so added broth after everything else was pureed and added to the stockpot. Since the squash was exceptionally sweet, I didn't need to add brown sugar. The dollop of yogurt added a nice creamy touch. Thank you for this wonderful fall recipe that I'll make seasons to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States