Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Sorry, but I didn't like the taste of this soup. The seasonings didn't work together at all. I really wanted to like it since I was planning on serving it to my dinner guests, but in the end had to toss it. I thought the cinnamon was too overpowering, and should not have been used with the curry powder. I tried using the yogurt, but didn't like that tart flavor at all; using cream was better, but still not rich enough. I've had better butternut squash soup recipes. I won't make this again. Also, it was too thin. Should not have used all that broth. If you do make this soup, do various taste tests using the suggested seasonings one at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made the changes suggested by the reviewer 'exterra' and the soup was incredible. If the original recipe included his changes my rating would undoubtedly be 5 stars. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is a great soup! I followed the suggestions by Amanda L and cut into cubes to roast along with onion, garlic, and ginger. This is a great recipe for squash! I added 2c half and half for 1/2 the chicken stock to make it creamy without so much fat. A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Bob loves it. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
After all the work we went through to make it, this soup wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be. I actually liked the flavor of the roasted butternut squash alone than I did when everything was mixed together. I'll finish the leftovers, but will look for a different recipe next time I want to cook with butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Outstanding recipe. I did make a few small tweaks but for the most part it stands as is. I didn't add the onions because I didn't have any on-hand. And I changed the liquids a bit as I used a small squash, so I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of light cream. I also added 1 large cooked carrot to the puree. This was simply delicious and I'll definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Mm, excellent. I've made this a few times, as is, with pumpkin instead, adding an apple, etc. It's a great recipe, and a great place to start. I use chicken broth, instead of the vegetable broth, since it's what we usually have. Family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made this and substituted 2 cups of coconut milk for the yogurt, added more curry and ginger, more brown sugar, and a bit more salt. It was easy to make and my family loved it. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brier, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States