Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I make it every fall! I double the garlic, omit the bay leaf, and triple the curry. We like flavor!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delicious and I love that it uses plain yogurt instead of fat laden cream, a very tasty healthy recipe! Roasting all the veggies gave it outstanding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This soup is pretty good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of five because 1) I've never had squash soup before and don't have anything to compare it to, and 2) I didn't quite follow the recipe exactly. I've made this twice, the first time I only used half a large onion and four garlic gloves b\c two whole onions and a whole head of garlic seemed like way too much. I also added a bit of cilantro like one reviewer recommended and approx. 1/2 cup of half and half. It turned out good but I thought the curry was too strong, and also the roasted garlic didn't . . . ahem, agree with me. The second time I skipped the garlic all together and used half a tsp of curry instead of 1 whole tsp. I also added a dollop of sour cream as a garnish when I served it. I like it better the second time I think. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Really enjoyed this soup, even my brother who thinks anything with a bunch of veggies in it is bad said it was great. I did substitute the coconut milk for the yogurt as other reviewers suggested but I didn't want to waste and put an entire can which is 400ml instead of the 250ml I maybe should have to equal the amount of yogurt... I thought it was a little too much coconut. So I added a little half and half cream I had on hand to even it out a bit. I didn't measure out any of the spices and definitly added more curry and cinnamon! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I Didn't Like it thought it to rich . My wife loved it. We roasted carrots Red Peppers and onions ,Saved the Red Pepper for a garnish. Next time won't make it as the main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
For a variation, I used a butternut and an acorn squash, added a few carrots and a can pumpkin and cayenne pepper. Roasted the vegetables on foil and the clean up was easy. I used a stick blender and it went really fast. I made a large batch and have several servings in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
mmmm warm and yummy! I left out the oregano and brown sugar and used a 1/2 cup of whipping cream instead of yogurt. this soup is a great way to warm up on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I'm on a restricted diet so I had to change the yogurt to 1% cottage cheese, left out the brown sugar and it still turned out amazing! I hope to make this for my friends as is for a harvest party because I can tell it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Loved it just as is! Didn't change a thing--perfect, spicy, and comforting on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This didn't taste very good to me. I think the oregano and cinnamon together didn't taste right. I added coconut milk to it and it still wasn't to good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States