Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this soup to be far too sweet for my taste, and that was even before adding any brown sugar. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I put in less brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg, pending a taste test--I thought it sounded too sweet. I held out the brown sugar altogether, and added a little over half of the cinnamon and nutmeg. It looked yummy, but I took about three bites and dumped the whole pot down the drain, something I've never done before. Seems like I'm going to have to keep looking for the perfect curry squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This soup was awesome!!! I followed the recipe of one of the other reviewers, which added cilantro and heavy whipping cream, it also didn't put the brown sugar in. I used a buttercup squash instead of the butternut that it asked for. I go to this website often to get ideas and recipes and this is by far the best recipe I've found yet! I will definitly use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used the modifications suggested by Amanda L., the chef in Manhattan (first post). It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a hit with my family. A very tasty and heartwarming recipe for a cold day. Our family loves moderately spicy food, so I doubled all the spices and used a hot curry paste instead of curry powder. Also, I had no plain yogurt in the house, so I added 1 tbs of fat free sour cream to each bowl of soup and garnished with a sprig of cilantro. Will definitely add to my list of favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richards Bay, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Love this recipe. I felt it was rather quick and easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
yuck, I must have made it wrong but it had no flavour and I didn't think the roasting did anything for this soup. I will take the blame for this one though because i used chicken stock and probably didn't blend enough. i won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I didnt add the yogurt, cause quite frankly it didnt really need it. I bet if I did add it, it would just make it even better though. It is so low fat, low carb, and very tasty..I am glad I found it. Just started a diet and it is my new fave! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Dont look at the stars i gave it, I havent made it yet :) What would we think of adding dry sherry to this? Discuss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaLu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Yummy! And this is one of the healthier of the Butternut soups out there-which is why I chose to cook this one. I also roasted an apple with the other veggies and added 1/2tsp of powdered ginger (no fresh on hand). I used Greek yogurt (it's much more creamy) and a dollop of 1/2&1/2-which really wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States