Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
WOnderful, light and filling. I think it needs more spice than the recipe calls for, so when I make it again, I will beef up the curry and cinnamon. Or maybe try it with garam masala.....mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe was amazing! Roasting the butternut squash, onions, and garlic gave it such a rich and comforting taste. I made the following modifications: I cut the broth down to 4 cups, excluded the yogurt (to make nondairy), and added a pinch of nutmeg. During the blending process (in my vitamix) I added about 2 cups of the broth, then added the remaining 2 cups while simmering on the stove. Make This!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It's quite good. I sped up the process by cooking the squash in the microwave first. Added one chopped apple with the onion & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonwaterBarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made this tonight for the first time. Really great flavor -- perfect for a chilly November evening. I used only 5 cups of broth for a thicker soup. It worked, but it might have been a little TOO thick. Your mileage may vary. I'd definitely take the other reviewers' advice and use coconut milk instead of yogurt next time -- the yogurt tends to clump when you put it into the hot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really loved this one. I had to tweak it, though since I only had 1/2 of a butternut squash and had forgotten to pick another up. I had 1/2 of a butternut squash and added 1 sweet potato and 1 potato to it. I followed the recipe then, but also added some grilled chicken to it. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This soup is so incredible, I could not believe I made it myself. It's rich, flavorful and filling--A perfect low calorie snack for a fall day. I made this once but I am making it again and doubling the recipe so I don't run out so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add a little more brown sugar and curry powder, but that's my own personal taste. It is heavy on onion flavor, but that could have also been my vegetable broth. I didn't add the yogurt to the soup, because I wasn't serving it right away, but I did add a nice healthy dollop of sour cream after I heated up a bowl and sprinkled some pepitas on top for crunch factor. Lovely and perfect for the fall days ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This soup was delicious. I added about a 1-2" piece of ginger to the roasting veggies, used 5 cups of broth instead of 6 and used coconut milk instead of yogurt. Otherwise did everything as per the recipe. Delicious! The whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
WOW this soup is delicious!! The roasted veges make all the difference. I did the garlic in a roaster with a slight drizzle of olive oil (don't know if that affects the taste at all - probably not), and because I am low-carb but not low-fat, I used about 3/4 bar of philly cream cheese instead of yogurt. My VERY picky 8 year old couldn't get enough of this soup!!! First time eating it, and already a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am so happy to have found this soup! I recently had it at a wedding and fell in love. One clarification question: Does the yogurt go into the entire recipe or is it used simply as a garnish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States