Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This soup is just excellent. My husband doesn't like oregano or cinnamon which I omitted when I made this soup and it still was very good. Roasting the vegetable added so much flavor. We will be making this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I saw this recipe today when I was looking for a recipe for butternut squash. I made it and we had it as part of our evening meal. It is delicious. I have frozen enough for four servings which I will serve to my sister and her husband when they come to see us next weekend. By freezing it I will have more time to spend with them but still be able to give them delicious meals Ryska from Scotland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is a grown up treat. I hate squash, but I cater parties and was asked by the client to make a squash soup. I searched and found this recipe, followed the instructions exactly and wound up with a soup I tried and actually liked(!!!) and received rave reviews from my paying clients over. Have used it several times since and am working on coming up with some short cuts which may allow it to obtain better ratings on the quickness & easiness ratings. As for the kid-friendly rating, who cares? Not everything is for children, who are notoriously fussy eaters and should not be catered to as they have no sense of taste and should be ignored in terms of culinary aspiration. AllRecipe should add another rating scale - entertainment potential, in which this recipe would score off the charts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berlin-Neukoelln (Rixdorf), Berlin, Germany
Living In: Stowe, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Yummy recipe. My husband and I are vegetarians and we also love curry so this was just an all time winner with us.We are fond of spicy food so I did add a bit more curry. Great ricipe thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I felt like the curry and brown sugar and cinnamon greatly contradicted each other. I would take out the sugar and cinnamon all together. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My husband rarely likes the new soups I try. He said I could make this one every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I loved this Squash soup, I was dying to make one from the scratch! Since my husband and I are lactose intolerants I replace plain yougurt with 1/4 cup of lactose-free sour cream and tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
AMAZING RECIPE! I decreased the amount of brown sugar and cinnamon and added extra curry and some chipotle, otherwise it was too delicate for us. I skipped the yogurt and added three tbs. heavy cream instead. Very nice recipe that everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This is a wonderful cold winter night's soup! I added extra curry - we can't get enough. We used the yogurt as a condiment, rather than mixing it in with the soup - wonderful! We will definitely make this one again - soon! :) Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This soup was great. I served it for a large dinner party and everyone raved about it. Adding yogurt at the end is a nice compliment to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States