Roasted Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Adding chicken broth after the squash was incorporated with the onions really helped give the dish a much nicer consistency. Also, try adding a splash of balsamic vinegar to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
Rich flavorful and nutritionally superior to other dressings that might accompany hardy meats and roasted fowl. Onions and spices provide a flavor boost that would make squash a more attractive dish for people who otherwise would resist trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
YUM!! This is a great side dish! I love it! I served at thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! Even the kids and that is hard to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Took the advice of another rater and added some chicken broth - it was fantastic! Best acorn squash recipe I've ever tried. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is very tasty! I added cinnamon and used molasses instead of brown sugar and it turned out great. It was a bit dry, maybe it needs a bit more oil or butter. I'll make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
it needs some sort of sauce or gravy. it's too dry by itself. it might make a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this for a potluck, for a woman who wanted a savory squash dish instead of the usual sweet type. Didn't have coriander on hand, so I used a bit more onion, garlic and nutmeg. It turned out *quite* well, I got multiple compliments and not a bit was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was great. I added some apple sauce for extra moisture (instead of extra butter) at it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe is really good, though missing a few key spices. I added spinach and chili powder to give it a little more flavor and added some tofu to make it a meal. I really like the sauted squash though, never would have thought of that myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband and I both thought this was outstanding, and that says a lot, because he can be quite difficult to please. I was looking for something healthy, not just another recipe for a butter/brown sugar mix to bake into the acorn squash. I wanted something that would enable us to not only taste the acorn squash, but to also try a dish that would enhance the flavor of the spices. Very good!!! Very flavorful and delicious and has the added bonus of being very healthy! I can also envision ways to prepare this to experiment with more flavors, but this is awesome as is! Thanks so much for sharing this, Jen! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States