Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Skipped cinnamon/nutmeg. My husband loves it with hot sauce, he loves everything with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We did not like this at all. Maybe I did something wrong....it tastes like hairspray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. Not too impressed. Lacks depth and rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so yummy and so good for you, too! I added 1 large, chopped Granny Smith apple to the veggies I sautéed and because I am allergic to milk, I substituted coconut milk for the half and half. It was amazing and is the perfect fall soup! Great after visiting the pumpkin farm and corn maze on a chilly October afternoon. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Tried this soup for the first time and overall it was good. I did, however, HAVE to adjust it slightly because it was rather bland. I made one-half of the recipe which served 4 people adequately. I cooked the squash in the microwave rather than the oven - perhaps that made a difference(?) and although I adjusted the other ingredients since I only used 1 squash, I found it very bland. As someone else suggested, I added red pepper flakes thinking that would help - it didn't. So, although I was trying to avoid using brown sugar, I made small additions until the flavor improved. This soup does have a nice consistency and I will make it again - with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought this was great! I used almond milk instead of half & half and vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thought this soup was wonderful. Here in Southern Indiana where I live acorn squash are plentiful so I have been baking them for weeks. I altered the recipe a bit when I made it. Instead of chicken stock I used one can of chicken broth and one can of beef broth. I also sauteed the carrots, onions and garlic for a lot longer than 7 minutes to give the broth a nice caramelized accent. I also omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and added some red pepper flakes for a bit of spice. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Perfect as is. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Really good recipe. added a bit of allspice to the mix and used 1 cup milk instead of half and half. also roasted the seeds and used them for a delicious garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Roasted the onion, carrots and garlic along with the squash. Combined all in a pan with the rest of ingredients and used my immersion blender from other reviews. Only roast garlic for about half an hour, then take out of oven and set aside til ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States