Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very much enjoyed this soup recipe. I made has written, only didn't puree the veggies all the way down. I used my blender stick so that I could leave some of the veggies in small pieces. I like the texture the vegetables add to the soup. I did freeze some of this and it reheated very well. Always a plus in my book. I served this with 'French Baguettes' from AR. The next time I make this I'm going to add some cayenne pepper or Cajun season to give it a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I roasted the acorn squash cut side up with butter and maple syrup. That was the only change. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
FABULOUS!!! I just ate my first bowl. Going back for another :)Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Hogan Wick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Skipped cinnamon/nutmeg. My husband loves it with hot sauce, he loves everything with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We did not like this at all. Maybe I did something wrong....it tastes like hairspray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. Not too impressed. Lacks depth and rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so yummy and so good for you, too! I added 1 large, chopped Granny Smith apple to the veggies I sautéed and because I am allergic to milk, I substituted coconut milk for the half and half. It was amazing and is the perfect fall soup! Great after visiting the pumpkin farm and corn maze on a chilly October afternoon. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Tried this soup for the first time and overall it was good. I did, however, HAVE to adjust it slightly because it was rather bland. I made one-half of the recipe which served 4 people adequately. I cooked the squash in the microwave rather than the oven - perhaps that made a difference(?) and although I adjusted the other ingredients since I only used 1 squash, I found it very bland. As someone else suggested, I added red pepper flakes thinking that would help - it didn't. So, although I was trying to avoid using brown sugar, I made small additions until the flavor improved. This soup does have a nice consistency and I will make it again - with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought this was great! I used almond milk instead of half & half and vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thought this soup was wonderful. Here in Southern Indiana where I live acorn squash are plentiful so I have been baking them for weeks. I altered the recipe a bit when I made it. Instead of chicken stock I used one can of chicken broth and one can of beef broth. I also sauteed the carrots, onions and garlic for a lot longer than 7 minutes to give the broth a nice caramelized accent. I also omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and added some red pepper flakes for a bit of spice. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States