Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe turned out fairly good and it was souper easy! I ended up omitting the cream. I just felt like it didn't need it. I think next time I would reduce the cinnamon and nutmeg. I've got a stuffy nose and I feel like the cinnamon and nutmeg is overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I had bought 1 Acorn Squash at the grocery on an impulse, even though I had no idea how to cook it or what it would taste like. I decided on this Recipe since there are 3 of us in the household and it wouldn't be the only dish on the table for dinner in case we didn't like it. I loved it! I made it exactly as written, except I only used 1 squash and I cooked/steamed it in the microwave (cut sides down in a glass dish with about 1/4" of water, covered with plastic wrap for 10 minutes). This saved a good 35 minutes of oven time. Of course I halved the ingredients, and I used 1% Lactaid Milk which worked out fine. This made a full pot of creamy soup, plenty for the 3 of us plus some leftover. I served mine with a dallop of sour cream in the middle. The taste is very interesting; Sweet but Savory. See my pics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Photo by amynakamura
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Made my vegan by using vegetable stock/broth and coconut milk. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Decent recipe, but the result was rather intense! This spices in this soup were very overwhelming so we couldn't eat very much of it. This was definitely a fun experiment, but I wouldn't cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was a very tasty Recipe, but I altered it to be more chunky (since we like our Soups to be of more substance). I used Shallots instead of Onions. I added Roasted Red Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts, from the night before's leftovers. I used my Immersion Blender and just pureed the Acorn Squash a little bit. I also used Light Cream instead of the Half and Half. I also added Pancetta, too. Delicious and my Husband asked or seconds. This from a Man that doesn't like Acorn Squash nor Brussel Sprouts. Mmh, the wonders of an Immersion Blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
this was the easiest, fastest and very delicious soup I have made in a long time from a recipe! I inherited two acorn squash from a Halloween party and didn't want to see them go to waste so I came home and made it! It was just right! Did not have to alter in any way! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Kuczynski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I liked my family didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Nice and silky and easy to make but it's a SWEET soup. I used my immersion blender which made blending the soup in the pot super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this following the recipe, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Leyden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I modified it to my tastes. I doubled the amount of stock and half and half and kept everything else the same. I used pumpkin pie spice and it was fine! We are not that fond of spice so I did not double that. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Fedorowsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States