Roasted Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was a tasty recipe--but I'll warn you right now, I revised it for a slow cooker only because I don't do ovens when the temps are still in the triple digits (like they are in Phoenix right now). I made 1/2 the batch. I washed the whole acorn squash then set it in a 5 qt. slow cooker and turned to low for 8 hours. I let the squash cool to handle then peeled and seeded it. I followed the rest of the recipe except I used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of half'n'half and pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon/nutmeg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made this for 17 people on Thanksgiving, and it was a hit! I used 2 acorn squash and 2 butternut squash and increased the other ingredients accordingly. The only change I made was 2% milk instead of half'n'half. Delicious! The leftovers were a popular choice for lunch and dinner the next day. It was just as good left-over as it was fresh, and it was good served cold as well as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
added a little cream cheese and little hot pepper like we do with our butternut squash soup. Very good with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Roasted the onion, carrots and garlic along with the squash. Combined all in a pan with the rest of ingredients and used my immersion blender from other reviews. Only roast garlic for about half an hour, then take out of oven and set aside til ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I thought this was great! I used almond milk instead of half & half and vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Perfect as is. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Really tasty soup. I got a load of acorn squash in my CSA storage share and was looking to do something different than the typical sweet side dish preparation of it. I love that this recipe uses half and half instead of heavy cream. With a side of hearty, crusty sourdough bread, this soup is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made it as described, except I used my own veg stock instead of chicken and I used an immersion blender in the pot. I was expecting to spike my own bowl with sriracha, because I like some heat (but my toddler doesn't) & a couple of other reviewers said it was bland, but I didn't end up using the hot sauce at all - it was delicious as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very much enjoyed this soup recipe. I made has written, only didn't puree the veggies all the way down. I used my blender stick so that I could leave some of the veggies in small pieces. I like the texture the vegetables add to the soup. I did freeze some of this and it reheated very well. Always a plus in my book. I served this with 'French Baguettes' from AR. The next time I make this I'm going to add some cayenne pepper or Cajun season to give it a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I roasted the acorn squash cut side up with butter and maple syrup. That was the only change. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States