Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I didn't get a chance to eat it tonight, but my husband and 2 kids gave it 5 stars. I tossed it in the crockpot with everything. I sautéed the onions and garlic before putting them in and used 2 tsp. of Better Than Bouillon instead of beef bouillon cubes. My daughter who is the pickiest had two large servings. Definitely going to use this one again. I also threw in cut up red potatoes for the last hour and those were also a hit with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was really easy, and was a big hit. I strained the "gravy", just because i don't like things floating around in my gravy. Served it with Yorkshire Pudding. No one detected the coffee at all. I followed this recipe to a tee. I'm not a gravy fan, but this gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe! My grocery didn't have the sirloin tip so I used a pot roast. I wasn't expecting much since it was a cheaper cut of meat, but it turned out delicious. The only other change i made to the recipe was I used half the salt since we have been trying to watch our salt intake. I can't wait to make this again using the sirloin tip roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very Delicious... I added carrots and potatoes after an hour of cooking. I then strained the vegetables and added the flour/water mixture. Made a yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
YUM! Used a bit of a dry rub we had on hand and omitted the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this yesterday using beef arm roast that I cut in half to fit in my smaller slow cooker. I browned it according to the recipe then placed it in my slow cooker. I sauteed the onions and garlic, and put them on top. I replaced bouillon cubes with 2tsp Better Than Bouillon soup base and omitted the salt. I used a few teaspoons of dried basil. The roast cooked completely submerged in liquid on low for 8-9 hours, completely fell apart. The gravy was fabulous. I couldn't taste the coffee directly, but there was a depth of flavor that was tasty. Something that tells you, "Secret Ingredient", but you'd never guess coffee. I served it all with mashed potatoes and peas. I will be making it again and am curious to try it with a venison roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow!Pot roast is one of my all-time favorites. I've tried numerous recipes and they've all bee good. This one, however, is IT! Absolutely Delicious! I used a top round roast & dried basil. After browning the meat & sauteing the onions & garlic, I deglazed the pan with the coffee & transferred everything to a crockpot. I let it cook on low while I was at work. When I got home, I just removed the roast to another dish, then poured the jus into a pot on the stove, stirred in the flour/water mix & let it thicken. The gravy was truly To Die For! I've found my new definite Go-To recipe! Oh, and I did use dried basil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Loved it! So did my husband and 2-year old. I added the carrots and made sour cream and chive mashed potatoes on the side, which were awesome with the gravy from this roast. Thanks so much csijh2000!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. It turned out really good. Hubby said if he didn't like coffee he might not have liked it as much. I only made a couple of changes. I omitted the bouillon, salt, and basil. I don't use salt and I didn't have the basil. In its place I used bay leaves, sage and Worcestershire sauce. It was super easy, and was very tender. My roast took a little under 2 hours since it was about 2lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Its hubby approved....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States