Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this in my dutch oven. The meat was tender enough and flavorful but the gravy was awful! I will not make this again. There was too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used chuck roast, and it turned out very tender. I didn't have beef bouillon, so I added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke and 2 tsp soy sauce. It made a very good gravy. After browning the roast, I put it in the slow cooker for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Awesome...easy to make and tastes great. I put mine in a slow cooker on low for about 6 hours and it was fabulous. I have made it several times since. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I thought..coffee? on the stove? Well it was surprisingly good. I used less salt based on other reviews and it was still plenty salty. The texture of the roast and gravy turned out wonderful. I'm just a little iffy on the total flavor. Next time I'll cut back the coffee a bit and just add more liquid. Just had a flavor a bit stronger than I liked, maybe my coffee wasn't fresh enough. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Made as directed. The family did not like it at all. The gravy came out awful tasting and it soaked into the meat. Weird taste and will not try again. I think using coffee made the whole taste simply nasty tasting. Will not repeat this one EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was delicious. I had some reservations about the brewed coffee but there was no coffee taste at all. I also used dried basil and a bay leaf. Very easy recipe to follow and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This roast was fantastic, I will use less salt next time, but overall the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYBlackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I didn't get a chance to eat it tonight, but my husband and 2 kids gave it 5 stars. I tossed it in the crockpot with everything. I sautéed the onions and garlic before putting them in and used 2 tsp. of Better Than Bouillon instead of beef bouillon cubes. My daughter who is the pickiest had two large servings. Definitely going to use this one again. I also threw in cut up red potatoes for the last hour and those were also a hit with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Its hubby approved....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was really easy, and was a big hit. I strained the "gravy", just because i don't like things floating around in my gravy. Served it with Yorkshire Pudding. No one detected the coffee at all. I followed this recipe to a tee. I'm not a gravy fan, but this gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States