Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is hands down, THE best roast I have ever made (and I have made my share). My husband says it's the best roast he's ever eaten... And he's tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Amazing delicious flavor!!! I also finished the cooking in my crockpot after searing the beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This "Roast with Gravy" was good. I made my coffee extra strong in a French Press (to get a richer coffee flavor owing to coffee oils) because we love coffee at our home; however, the end result did not have a strong coffee flavor. I could not taste a significant basil flavor from the basil leaves from my herb garden either. I did not thicken the gravy with flour because I don't eat flour. If I were to make this recipe again, I would add a lot more onions as we like a rich onion flavor at our home. I might be inclined to add some hot spices as well. Thank you csljh2000 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe really will bring you back to Sunday suppers at Grandma's. So tasty and satisfying. I bet you could get people to happily eat haggis with this delicious gravy on it! I served the roast with creamed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Everyone cleaned their plate and a couple went back for seconds. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Borrego Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made some minor modifications, the roast was great. I cooked it in a dutch oven, substituted 2 Cups beef broth for the water and bouillon, used 1 tsp salt (instead of 1 tbsp), and mixed in a roux instead of the water flour mixture. My gravy was light instead of dark/clear, but the flavor really popped. I also added baby carrots about an hour in. Everyone loved it, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was really good I substituted the beef roast for venison and the gravy was different, but in a good way. I seasoned the roast before searing. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is hands down the BEST roast I've ever eaten! I don't cook with salt so I added it afterwards but I did add 2 Bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is average at best. The roast is certainly tender but the gravy and the meat turned out bland - and I followed the recipe to a t-easpoon. Had to use a jar gravy to save the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LesBlankenship
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Enjoyed it and will make it again- but will use less salt next time. Everything else was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LesBlankenship

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
We have made this 4-5 times as written except with dry basil and not too strong decaffeinated coffee. We really love how easy and tasty it is. The gravy is very rich and and flavorful. I don't even like beef roasts that much but this is one that is delicious every time! Makes excellent left over hot beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States