Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Thank you. I've been looking for this recipe for a long time. Coffee: yes! That's the secret! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this just like the recipe except I used " Better then Bouillon" with less salt and I used a slow cooker after browning it first, very good, the coffee really made the difference. Very tender, made a great gravy. I served it with sweet peas, mashed potato's and biscuits, talk about comfort food. I will make it again and again, would be a perfect meal for a cold winter's night. Thank you for posting it Laura. If you like shrimp try my "Kevin's Seashells" let me know what you think by reviewing it, but please use fresh shrimp, not canned. Kevin P.S This Roast makes great leftovers... Open Faced roast beef sandwich with Swiss Cheese, Roast and Gravy Noodles, Roast & Gravy Rice. Serve with Pillsbury Corn Biscuits, Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin McRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Amazing!! Can't taste coffee at all. But so tasty! I added a bay leaf to simmering stage, and has to use chopped dried oregano. Also opted to use only 1.5tsp salt instead of the 1T it asked for and that was plenty salt. Used beef stock instead of water and bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this as written except that I also added salt and pepper to my buffalo roast before searing. My roast was not fully defrosted when I started searing and I put it in a crock pot on high for 5 hours and then low/warm after that and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Cut salt in 1/2. This is our new goto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Roast with Gravy" was good. I made my coffee extra strong in a French Press (to get a richer coffee flavor owing to coffee oils) because we love coffee at our home; however, the end result did not have a strong coffee flavor. I could not taste a significant basil flavor from the basil leaves from my herb garden either. I did not thicken the gravy with flour because I don't eat flour. If I were to make this recipe again, I would add a lot more onions as we like a rich onion flavor at our home. I might be inclined to add some hot spices as well. Thank you csljh2000 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Photo by ash
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this with a venison roast. I left out the bouillon and basil. It was delicious! My whole family loved it! I served it with mashed potatoes and sliced bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I loved it... I had a 3 1/2 pound roast. And for a house full of people who don't like roast. With less then a half pound left over says ALLOT! EVEN my 5 year old cleared his plate. .. 7 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMOWN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimiann15
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've tried a few different roast recipes, but this one is the absolute best. The beef came out so tender and full of flavor and the gravy was absolutely perfect. This will definitely be my new go-to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Best Onion Soup recipe. I've been trying for years. This one is simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States