Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this yesterday using beef arm roast that I cut in half to fit in my smaller slow cooker. I browned it according to the recipe then placed it in my slow cooker. I sauteed the onions and garlic, and put them on top. I replaced bouillon cubes with 2tsp Better Than Bouillon soup base and omitted the salt. I used a few teaspoons of dried basil. The roast cooked completely submerged in liquid on low for 8-9 hours, completely fell apart. The gravy was fabulous. I couldn't taste the coffee directly, but there was a depth of flavor that was tasty. Something that tells you, "Secret Ingredient", but you'd never guess coffee. I served it all with mashed potatoes and peas. I will be making it again and am curious to try it with a venison roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
YUM! Used a bit of a dry rub we had on hand and omitted the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow!Pot roast is one of my all-time favorites. I've tried numerous recipes and they've all bee good. This one, however, is IT! Absolutely Delicious! I used a top round roast & dried basil. After browning the meat & sauteing the onions & garlic, I deglazed the pan with the coffee & transferred everything to a crockpot. I let it cook on low while I was at work. When I got home, I just removed the roast to another dish, then poured the jus into a pot on the stove, stirred in the flour/water mix & let it thicken. The gravy was truly To Die For! I've found my new definite Go-To recipe! Oh, and I did use dried basil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very Delicious... I added carrots and potatoes after an hour of cooking. I then strained the vegetables and added the flour/water mixture. Made a yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. It turned out really good. Hubby said if he didn't like coffee he might not have liked it as much. I only made a couple of changes. I omitted the bouillon, salt, and basil. I don't use salt and I didn't have the basil. In its place I used bay leaves, sage and Worcestershire sauce. It was super easy, and was very tender. My roast took a little under 2 hours since it was about 2lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe! My grocery didn't have the sirloin tip so I used a pot roast. I wasn't expecting much since it was a cheaper cut of meat, but it turned out delicious. The only other change i made to the recipe was I used half the salt since we have been trying to watch our salt intake. I can't wait to make this again using the sirloin tip roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is hands down the BEST roast I've ever eaten! I don't cook with salt so I added it afterwards but I did add 2 Bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this in my dutch oven. The meat was tender enough and flavorful but the gravy was awful! I will not make this again. There was too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I thought..coffee? on the stove? Well it was surprisingly good. I used less salt based on other reviews and it was still plenty salty. The texture of the roast and gravy turned out wonderful. I'm just a little iffy on the total flavor. Next time I'll cut back the coffee a bit and just add more liquid. Just had a flavor a bit stronger than I liked, maybe my coffee wasn't fresh enough. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I didn't get a chance to eat it tonight, but my husband and 2 kids gave it 5 stars. I tossed it in the crockpot with everything. I sautéed the onions and garlic before putting them in and used 2 tsp. of Better Than Bouillon instead of beef bouillon cubes. My daughter who is the pickiest had two large servings. Definitely going to use this one again. I also threw in cut up red potatoes for the last hour and those were also a hit with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States