Roast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used chuck roast, and it turned out very tender. I didn't have beef bouillon, so I added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke and 2 tsp soy sauce. It made a very good gravy. After browning the roast, I put it in the slow cooker for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Awesome...easy to make and tastes great. I put mine in a slow cooker on low for about 6 hours and it was fabulous. I have made it several times since. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I thought..coffee? on the stove? Well it was surprisingly good. I used less salt based on other reviews and it was still plenty salty. The texture of the roast and gravy turned out wonderful. I'm just a little iffy on the total flavor. Next time I'll cut back the coffee a bit and just add more liquid. Just had a flavor a bit stronger than I liked, maybe my coffee wasn't fresh enough. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Made as directed. The family did not like it at all. The gravy came out awful tasting and it soaked into the meat. Weird taste and will not try again. I think using coffee made the whole taste simply nasty tasting. Will not repeat this one EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was delicious. I had some reservations about the brewed coffee but there was no coffee taste at all. I also used dried basil and a bay leaf. Very easy recipe to follow and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This roast was fantastic, I will use less salt next time, but overall the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYBlackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I didn't get a chance to eat it tonight, but my husband and 2 kids gave it 5 stars. I tossed it in the crockpot with everything. I sautéed the onions and garlic before putting them in and used 2 tsp. of Better Than Bouillon instead of beef bouillon cubes. My daughter who is the pickiest had two large servings. Definitely going to use this one again. I also threw in cut up red potatoes for the last hour and those were also a hit with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Its hubby approved....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was really easy, and was a big hit. I strained the "gravy", just because i don't like things floating around in my gravy. Served it with Yorkshire Pudding. No one detected the coffee at all. I followed this recipe to a tee. I'm not a gravy fan, but this gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. It turned out really good. Hubby said if he didn't like coffee he might not have liked it as much. I only made a couple of changes. I omitted the bouillon, salt, and basil. I don't use salt and I didn't have the basil. In its place I used bay leaves, sage and Worcestershire sauce. It was super easy, and was very tender. My roast took a little under 2 hours since it was about 2lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States