Roast Pumpkin and Feta Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe was delicious! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and used 6 cups instead of 4. The fresh pumpkin was kind of a pain to work with, but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Mmmm, the pumpkin in this is so delicious despite the hassle it is to cut up (wonder if it's sold frozen?) I also did not bother to peel it. I would suggest using 6 cups broth since my rice was not done cooking by the time the liquid had evaporated (one of my cookbooks recommends 1 part Arborio rice to 3 parts liquid). Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
A winner -- literally! I'm a college student and my dorm sponsored a cooking contest for dishes using fresh pumpkin, so I entered this one, and I won 1st prize, a mini iPod! I roasted baby pumpkin halves and served the risotto in them, which made for a great presentation. Delicious (though time-consuming).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This took me somewhat longer than the specified time, but the finished dish was well worth it. I appreciate the simple flavors, and how easy it was to cook the rice. When I've made risotto before it has always been difficult. A couple of suggestions: 1) mine took an extra quarter cup or so of broth; 2) I let the corners brown on my feta cheese, because it intensifies the flavor. The cheese fit on a toaster oven-size sheet, and I used a 3 qt. sauté pan for the rice, which fit everything perfectly. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good flavor and presentation too. The mashed pumpkin added to the rice makes the dish. I tasted it before adding the pumpkin and it was kind of bland, but afterwards, what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Superb!! So smooth and creamy yet without any cheese in the risotto!! I added a whole clove of fresh garlic. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This was fantastic, tasted great and looks sensational...definately a keeper as a main or side...fabulous fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CERAWALLACE
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Wow! This was absolutely delicious and so beautiful to present as well. (I served it in a pumpkin half I had hollowed out). It was a very unexpected combination. I added sauteed red bell peppers to add even more taste and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I gave this recipe full rating, because I believe in it, but I had a horrible time. It was my first risotto, plus I doubled the recipe for 8. I couldn't find fresh pumpkin, so I used butternut squash and a can of pumpkin. I cubed the squash, steamed it (too long), and then baked as suggested. I cooked the risotto as directed. Toward the end, I added a large can of pumpkin (3.5 cups). In a sudden, the dish went bland. I then added more salt, but it was boring, so I added some garam masala. Everything was great again. I stirred in cubed butternut squash, spinach, and garnished with feta and remaining squash. The presentation was beautiful, the taste excellent - but when it came time to serving this dish (5 hours later) it was very mushy. The aram masala was slightly overbearing. The dish was no longer great. I suspect it was too much canned pumpkin w/o benefit of salt/pepper/olive oil baked in the oven. Possibly a small can of pumpkin would be better, but I would only add to taste (I'm not yet convinced canned pumpkin will work). I would make sure the cubes are firm as recommended, because I think this added to the overall mush. Keep garam masal, to a sprinkle and then add to taste (it was truly delightful). I have since been told risotto must be served fresh. Is it true? As a dedicated pumpkin and risotto enthusiast, I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
We loved this recipe! The sweetness of the pumpkin mixed with the tanginess of the feta are a wonderful combination. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Also, it was the wrong time of year for fresh pumpkin, so I used a little bit of canned pumpkin instead. I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States