Roast Pumpkin and Feta Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My boyfriend and I are both big fans of risotto and so I decided to make this for him the other night. I followed this recipe exactly but I must say, we were very disappointed. We both found the risotto to be a one note dish with no depth of flavour at all. Can't recommend this one, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Didn't try the fresh pumpkin, which would have been better, I'm sure, but this is still an excellent risotto. My wife and her girlfriends devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Wow...never had risotto before nor had I ever made it. This was fantastic! The pumpkin has amazing flavor and went really well with the feta! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. However, I cook the pumpkin, then scoop it out and mix it in with the risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I loved this! Spinach, pumpkin & feta a winning combination (also delicious in a fritatta). I used brown rice and increased pumpkin (looks alot when you first put it in, but decreases in size when baked, same goes for spinach) and spinach.... Will make again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I loved the end result of this, but I altered the recipe a lot. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin because it was in season, 6 cans of veg and chicken broth like some of the reviews had suggested, a whole clove of garlic, and 10 oz of goat cheese instead of 6 feta because I prefer it. I added a package of shredded parmesan cheese, chicken, and crushed basil. I did not bake the cheese before adding, or peel the squash. I mashed half of it before adding like the directions said, but I wish I wouldn't have because with the squash being so tender, it just fell apart anyways and I didn't get any good chunks or color. I had a few days worth of leftovers and loved eating this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Absolutely terrific. This is a more complicated recipe, but not impossible if you're good at following directions. It was definitely worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very very good, especially the second time I made it. Both times I used most of a 29oz can of pumpkin in place of the fresh, and 10oz frozen spinach (defrosted, drained well)-altho I LOVE spinach so try 5oz if you're not a huge fan. I did not cook the feta separately, just added crumbles at the end. Adding parmesan was also a nice touch. The second time I made it, I added some curry powder (maybe ~1tsp, although I didnt measure), which gave it the flavor it needed the first time. For an easier version, I actually used Trader Joe's Harvest Grain Blend (cooked per pkg directions in broth with minced garlic and onion powder), then added the spinach, pumpkin, feta, parmesan, curry powder, s&p when it was ready. Delicious! Saved a ton of time. (1.5 cups grains, ~15oz pumpkin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I agree that you should count on adding more broth, as I had no more than 4 c. on hand and mine came out a little too dry and a tad too al dente for my taste but this is soooo yummy. The more feta the better. I'll be making this one again very soon. It made a tasty vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States