Roast Pumpkin and Feta Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is just wonderful! I had a similar recipe in a Portland restaurant that used winter squash, gorgonzola, and arugula, which inspired me to make this. It is absolutely worth the time and lead to a very happy husband. I sprinkled mine with pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I absolutely LOVE THIS. I had some pumpkins leftover from Halloween decorations and I didn't want them to go to waste. I found this recipe, realized I had all the ingredients, and went to town. What I should have done would be to roast the pumpkin IN the pumpkin shell and scoop it out later. What I did was "peel" the pumpkin with a vegetable peeler (I have no idea if this is how you're supposed to do it or not. It's very difficult!) and chop it into chunks for the steaming and then the roasting. Next time I'll skip the arm workout and do it the easy way. The roasted feta really pops after being in the oven and the spinach gives it great flavor and color. I probably added double the spinach just because I needed to use it before it went bad, and it was great. I also probably added close to 6 cups of vegetable broth, also, but I wasn't keeping count. I just stirred and tasted til it was right in my book ;) Gorgeous and can't WAIT for the leftovers at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was a disaster. The instructions are not clear on just how to go from a cooked pumpkin to how much to add to the rice. My pumpkin turned out to be too old, so I cooked it just to use as a server and substituted canned pumpkin, which I baked in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper. When I mixed it all, I added the entire 28 oz. can - may have been too much. It was very bland. I had plenty of chicken broth, so it was fine there. So, I kept adding salt and pepper to help, but it didn't taste right. We decided to add brown sugar, which we thought was tasting good. But, by the time we got it to the table, most of the family couldn't finish it because it was too rich, too bland, too sweet - you name it. I really wanted to like this! Maybe if I had used a fresh cooking pumpkin or squash it would have worked, but as it is, none of the family is willing to try this one again. And, asking us to stir in the liquid a half cup at a time was extremely messy and time-consuming! When we make Spanish rice, we just brown the rice and add the whole amount of liquid, cover, and check on it for 20-minutes to add water if necessary. I won't do it the way the recipe says again. Ruined some very good feta. Wish I could try it again - but its a bad memory now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious vegetarian dish! Had a pumpkin I didn't know what to do with and this was perfect. Followed the directions exactly (although I did add 1/2 tsp of curry at the end). I will make this again and I want try it with a baking squash (when pumpkins are out of season). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Pretty good and a nice way to change up basic rice. I added a dash of garam masala (not very much!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Excellent, my toddlers loved it. I wanted them to move beyond pumpkin pie and this recipe made it. I used a mix of pumpin and squash, frozen spinach, no salt and peppar and a light broth to adapt to baby taste. It should be tagged kid-friendly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a little bland for my taste. I even added extra salt and pepper and dried cranberries. If I didn't add the cranberries I think this dish would have been way too boring and bland. Next time I'll try adding some more cheese and seasoning. Just okay in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very good! I was skeptical about the combination of ingredients but they're delish together. I used brown rice, pumpkin puree, frozen chopped spinach & didn't have feta so nixed the cheese. Easy, delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Y-U-M--YUM!!! So tasty. We made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Didn't have pumpkin so we used butternut squash and it was delish! Would also be good with some sage. Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was amazing. I gave it only 4 stars because I ended up adding gorgonzola to deepen the flavor since without it was a little bland. Super presentation, delicious, and reheated very well! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States