Roast Pork with Maple and Mustard Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This was delicious! My roast actually took 2 hours to cook completely. I would recommend basting the meat with the juices every 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This is sooo good - you won't be disappointed! I agree that only real maple syrup should be used here, otherwise it would be too sweet. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I pierced the roast all over before pouring the glaze on. I also basted it during cooking as others suggested. It turned out perfectly delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was so easy and tasted great - even my 2 year old and 9 year old loved it. I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots, both of which were good with the extra sauce. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This was an absolutly wonderful recipe. My husband loved it and he usually doesn't care for sauces or glazes. I put only half the glaze on the roast at first and then basted it with the other half and it turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Oh I thought I was in heaven when I ate this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was very easy to put together -a major plus for me. I opted to go the route of the crock pot as one of the other reviewers mentioned and it was fantastic. I simply placed the roast in the crock pot, poured the mixed ingredients on top, and let it cook on high for about 4 hours. I also used pure maple syrup and it was perfect. I would suggest you make sure you're not using "maple flavored pancake syrup" if you want this to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Fabulous. I found the flavour of the glaze wonderful but it was very thin. To avoid having to baste it constantly, I reduced the baste in a saucepan over medium heat until it thickened. I ended up with a glaze that went on and stayed on. One additional application of the glaze mid-way through cooking was all that was required. Also, if you've got the time, the pork can be made fabulously moist by setting the oven temperature at only 180 F. It will take about 3.5 hours for the internal temperature of the roast to reach 160 F (at which point its perfectly cooked), but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
713 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is fabulous, I've made it several times, it usually takes around 2 hours in the oven. The 2nd time I made it, I ran out of real maple syrup, so used 1/2 c real, 1/2 c pancake syrup and it was very sweet, so I added about 1 tablespoon of tabasco sauce. Oh baby, it remained sweet but had a subtle kick, I have since added tabasco every time I've made it, even though I use only real maple syrup, really keeps it from being overpoweringly sweet. The other thing I've done is to add in two loaf pans filled with carrots, onions, potatoes, and yams (cut into 1" chunks). I then made up another batch of the glaze and dumped 1/2 over each pan stirred to coat evenly and covered with foil, I stirred them when before serving. It was a heavenly companion to the roast. I cook it in a round glass pan that barely fits the roast, this keeps the glaze from being just a burnt on goop at the end of cooking, so I have some glaze remaining to drizzle over the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I had to feed about 16 adults so I roasted almost a 6lbs of center cut boneless pork roast. I cooked it about 25 minutes per pound and it was 170 degrees at the thickest point when finished, the roast could be cut with a butter knife. I thought by doubling the roast size, I would also need to double the glaze amount, mistake......the original glaze amount will be enough for even a 6lb roast. I wasted half of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Wow. This recipe was fantastic. I only had about 3/4 cup of pure maple syrup, so I had to use a little pancake syrup. It was still delicious. We deglazed the pan with red wine and served more glaze on the side. I served this to a group of people with mashed potatoes and a salad, and they loved it. One of the guys had recently returned from a deployment to Afghanistan. You can bet he cleaned his plate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States