Roast Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Is this a serious recipe? I grew up on Rabbit, Pigeon, Pheasant and Partridge and even more. I was taught by my Grandmother how to pluck, gut, skin and cook all game. I'm not sure you have a clue how to cook it correctly. I even passed my cooking exam by doing braised Pigeon. Okay well I'm just going have to ask a local Gamekeeper to get me the lot, cook it and post. Fair enough. My Father is now 78, he's given up shooting now. But I can still get what I need. As soon as I get time I will post photos and recipes. Just one point, cooking a pheasant for that amount of time can't be right. It would be so dry. It seems some agree. I am laughing a bit, sorry for that. This roast Pheasant is positively so pale and not appetizing at all. English people can surely do better than this. Well I know lots who do, I am certainly not calling anyone stupid, far from it. Anyone who cooks from fresh isn't. However it seems cooking the food that is in our local forest is a dying art. Just like Thatchers, I know some. My Brother was a Waterkeeper who bought home Trout, Grayling and more. My Father and Grandfather grew all our own vegetables etc. We learnt fast. I worked in a Country pub from 11 yrs old and soon was doing Watercress Soup etc All I am saying is we need to keep the knowledge alive. If you read this, thank you. I will post recipes on the subject matter when I can. P.s. I am 48. I'm grateful for my family and I really know Canadians get this right because they have to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I was very nervous about cooking our first pheasant as the bird is quite expensive. This recipe was easy to follow, and we ended up with a flavorful, tender meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I cooked the pheasant in my electric roaster. Fortunately, I checked the temperature at 90 minutes because it was done at that point. The flavor was delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The best pheasant I have ever eaten. The only change I made was to roast it in my small Nesco, but I used the same temperature setting as in the recipe. It came out tender and flavorful. Six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
only things that I changed were that I cooked in a glass baking dish and threw in a bit of orange juice. lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
this was a really good recipe. it was it first time cooking pheasant, so we followed the recipe except we added some butter. everyone raved about the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Smelled delicious and tastes even better. However we had to leave it in for an extra half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
really gives it a great flavor, not dry at all with the basting! so impressed after my first time trying pheasant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
No game taste....make sure it doesn't cook too long or it gets too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hamm Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States