Roast Peruvian Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I'm Peruvian, so I was looking for a recipe to make the Pollo a la Brasa. Ended up using this recipe and oh my! I butterflied the chicken and cooked it in a charcoal bbq. It was Amazing! Just like back in Peru. I only did the marinating part. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I cut this down and used it for Cornish game hens. It was fantastic. The sauce was nearly perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe for Turkey, best Christmas Turkey I've ever had. Even though it's different to normal turkeys it was far better whilst still having a turkey flavour. I brined my Turkey the night before in vegetable broth with a cup of salt and ice water in the morning dried off and stuffed it with a sausage,bread,etc.. Mix. Keep a cup of the brine for the sauce. For the final part of the roast not mentioned in the recipe I ended up leaving it in for another hour as it was stuffed then I removed the stuffing and 30min later the auto thermometer had popped out. The breast was perfectly moist and the leg meat was falling off the bone. Perfect. I recommend making the sauce /gravy too, it's brilliant with a little spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Foure

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flavia Olivos
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe this last Thanksgiving and oh myyy, it was amazing. My entire family absolutely loved it. I'm 20 years old, my parents this year were working all day so my mom wasn't able to cook. Couple days ago, my family asked me to cook our Christmas turkey. So honored haha. The only different things I did were, instead of leaving the turkey out for one hour I left it out for one and a half hours because I was using the oven for a pie. And also I didn't use the creme fraiche, I just used sour cream. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flavia Olivos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My husband is Peruvian. We loved it. We did not however make the sauce since Jalapeños are not Peruvian but you can probably substitute with a Peruvian pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Can I stuff the Peruvian Turkey like a traditional one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is the best turkey I have EVER had in my life!!!! It was better than the Peruvian chicken at well known city restaurant. Hubby even brought the left overs to work AFTER Thanks Giving and it was gone! The guys really like this and they are begging me to make it this Thanks Giving! However, we've just relocated to a high elevation, any advice on cooking it at high elevation would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe with a lot of flavor. I prepared it on a rotisserie and it came out perfect. Served with some Cuban black beans, which I included some of the Peruvian spice mixture in, and some spicy sweet potatoes. With the gravy on top of it all, it was a perfect meal to enjoy with friends. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I worried that the cumin might be overwhelming, and it was just a tad stronger than we liked, but this was a wonderful turkey! I had only sour cream, so I added a bit of cornstarch to the sauce mixture. My family really enjoyed the flavors, and it was moist and tender, even though it was a less-than-quality bird. Thanks for a lovely, flavorful new way to roast a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Please don't be afraid of the ingredients list. This turkey is amazing. I've made it twice now and my BF drools and begs every time he walks into the kitchen which smells absolutely amazing. Only change I made was to use lite mayo instead of oil and fat free sour cream with flour instead of crème fraiche. We do prefer to bake this covered for a couple hours and then uncover for the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States