Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I make Lamb Shanks all the time but I wanted to switch it up and do a leg of lamb recipe. I checked the web for a good LOL (my acronym for Leg of Lamb... Just made that up) and found this one. OMG (Nope, didn't make that one up. Hehe), this is absolutely succulent. Like others, I added about 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and fresh lemon juice (one lemon) to the marinade recipe. I baked mine in a cast iron Dutch oven (by Martha Stewart) and added a cup of water to the bottom of it before I put the LOL (going to copyright that) in. I put the lid 3/4 on roasted that baby at 375 for almost 3 hours. I basted it regularly and flipped it over to cook on the other side (which is why I think it was so juicy throughout) for the last hour. I like my roast well done, so you may want to reduce your cook time to 2 hours if you like it on the pink side. I actually didn't have time to marinade this over night, but it was a home run just the same. I paired this up with some black eyed peas cooked in smoked turkey, whipped candied yams, brown rice and cornbread. The Mister might give me a ring after this one (LOL...Laughing Out Loud, not eating on a Leg Of Lamb.. Hehe) because he loved it. Seriously, though, wicked good recipe. I'm adding this one to my catalog for sure. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The flavor was very good. If you have a temperature probe, you'll be better off. I paired this with the "Roasted Rosemary Potatoes." The two dishes went hand and hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My first time cooking lamb too! This was amazing. BTW - I added a Tablespoon of chopped sun dried tomato to the marinade. "Good Groceries" as my Dad used to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gary Maurice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rural Hall, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! We will definitely make this again. The temperature is all wrong, though! After the first 15 minutes at 450 degrees reduce the temperature to 350 degrees. The temperature of 400 degrees is way to hot for a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I just loved this recipe, I followed exactly other than the fact I omited the mustard. Great taste and texture ~ Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Awesome, Easter dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
the simplest and tastiest lamb recipe--EVER! it comes out flawless and everyone in our family--including our 4 young children-- eats it and asks for more! i've made it about 4 times now and haven't bothered to look for another lamb recipe. and, don't plan to either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Didn't have time to marinate overnight. Took the meat out of the freezer at about 11am, thawed in microwave, then put all ingredients with meat to marinate in one of those oven bags for about 4 hours. Instructions for the baking bag say not to cook over 400f, so that';s what I did - cooked at 400f for about 2hrs. Opened the bag about 3/4 of the way through and added 1c water. Result: Pink in the centre...delicious, tender, flavorful - raves from company. For a gravy (or sauce) I added a mixture of about 1tbsp cornstarch and 1/4 c water to thicken and added (as per another reviewer) a couple of tbsp Balsamic vinegar. Excellent accompaniment. Excellent dinner which I served with a salad, homemade rolls, roasted potatoes, stir fried asparagus and homemade mint jelly. The jelly I made according to the first reviewer for Mint Sauce but I added an envelope of Knox gelatin because my husband doesn't like the watery stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I followed a lot of the reviews to tweak this recipe because I was making it for Easter and didn't have room for mistakes. I used the thermometer and cooked it more well-done. It pleased even my guests who normally don't like to eat lamb. )I read the top 3 most helpful reviews focusing on the heat and moisture components).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
add balsamic vinegar...super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States