Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this recipe, and followed the directions exactly for Christmas last year. This was my first Christmas dinner at my house and I had never cooked a leg of lamb. I used standard lamb cooking guidelines with the lamb since all lamb legs will not be created equal. The flavor was perfect, and I would never make a change to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I used this recipe to make my first leg of lamb. I've had leg of lamb many times, but I had never made it myself. It turned out GREAT! I didn't change anything on the recipe except for the roasting temperature. I did the first 20 minutes at 450, then reduced to 350 for the remaining time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Even with adding balsamic vinegar as other reviewers recommended, this was a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missmonise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
loved it!! made this on christmas to rave reviews and used the leftovers the next morning to make a wonderful breakfast hash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made this following advice to alter cooking times, add more lemon juice and add water to the roasting pan. Also because I cannot tolerate black pepper I made a substitution (which I often use) of nutmeg with a dash of cinnamon. It got rave reviews from the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My husband grew up eating lamb often because his family owned their own butcher shop and said this was the best lamb dinner he ever ate. The marinade is a winner! I used a 3 lb boneless leg of lamb. Made the marinade as written except I used no lemon & added 1 tablspn of olive oil. Boneless allowed me to open the leg up and get the marinade inside of the lamb and then I rolled and tied it back up. I only marinated for 5 hours in a zip lock bag and I can't imagine it being any better. I cooked at 450 for 20 min then reduced to 325 for 25 min then increased heat to 350 for 35 min. I used digital thermometer & cooked until temp was 140. Rested for 15 min. It was slightly pink and super juicy. I also added 2 cups of water to pan during cooking but next time I will add 3 1/2 cups. I don't even like lamb but I couldn't resist tasting it and I loved it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I am no longer afraid to cook lamb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have time to marinate this overnight--just about 4 hrs. I pureed the marinade as per others' suggestions. I also cooked it at 350 instead of 400 which seemed to be just about perfect. I took it out at 140 and let it rest. It was perfectly pink in the middle. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this for Easter Sunday. It turned out delicious. My marinade did blacken though, so I put foil over the top for a while. I fed 12 people and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I cooked a boneless leg of lamb and it took more time than the recipe called for. The lamb was very moist; however, a little bland. I served it with a red currant jelly/wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very tasty! We marinated it utilizing the vacuum sealer container method and it only took about 20-30 minutes to marinate. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States