Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by meesh
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
So easy! It was my first time cooking a leg of lamb and it came out perfect! Will definitely repeat this recipe to impress my guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very good! I read reviews first and added about 1 cup of water to the pot, also added balsamic vinegar and olive oil to the marinade. I used lots of garlic to spike the meat, also added an onion. I put it into a covered cast iron casserole dish for about 3 hours on 340 F (had a 5 lbs. boneless leg) and it came out very moist and well done. Served it with fresh green beans, tzaziki, rosemary baked potato wedges (partially cooked and finished in the oven, while the lamb rested) and sweet potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was great. I did substitute orange zest for the lemon zest, and I also added a splash of lemon juice. I made the marinade twice, adding the second amount about half-way through the cooking time. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My cooking tip to first time lamb cooks is to use a Reynolds bag and you just add some herbs and salt and pepper. Maybe you will get better results. I will be using this recipe Easter Sunday and not add or detract any ingredients just to test it out. If we like it, I will see just what it needs for the next time. Too many cooks spoils the stew. And I always read the one star, two and three stars to be amused. It amazes me how disappointed they are with a recipe. The five stars seem to change the original recipe with so many different methods, they should submit their version of a dish. Happy Easter and good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This is great I have made this a few times, it always goes over great. A most try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Barney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This was my first time making lamb and it turned out great! I used some modifications suggested by other viewers and it was a huge hit. The only issue I ran into was the cooking time. I did a lot of reading about how long to cook lamb and it took waaaay longer than I was expecting. Here is the modified recipe I used: ~2.3lb boneless lamb 1/4C honey 2 tbsp mustard powder 2 tsp vinegar 2 tsp sugar 2 tsp water 1 tbsp dried rosemary 1/2 tbsp dried thyme 1 tsp black pepper 2 tbsp lemon juice 4 cloves garlic (~2.5 slivered and infused in the meat, the rest went in the mix) 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce I mixed everything up as the recipe suggested and let it marinate for about 2 days brushing the mixture over the meat at least once a day. Now for the cooking time, I used a roaster, so I didn't sear it. I cooked it at 325F for about 45 minutes and it was nowhere near cooked. I wondered if I ended up with a 2.3 kg lamb instead of 2.3 lbs which would have made a huge difference...Never the less, it was a huge hit when my guests finally got to eat it! I served with a rice pilaf and lemon mint asparagus with baklava for dessert. Delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Oz really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ewa Kubiak
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
It cant out good. Forgot the mint. Next time. I recommend this to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ewa Kubiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I did as others recommended by adding a splash of lemon juice and balsamic vinegar to the marinade. The lamb marinated overnight. Before roasting, I made a few small slits in the lamb and poked in some sliced garlic. To the roasting pan, I added some big chunks of carrot and onion so it would flavor the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent!! Marinate overnight and don't overcook. 15-20 mins on 450 then turned down to 375 for approx 2 hours for a 6 - 7 lbs boneless roast. Watch very carefully and check temps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States