Roast Goose with Wild Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Used this at Christmas as a Turkey filling, was very good. Great for people with wheat allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Douthett
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My first time cooking (or eating) a goose! I looked at about 6 recipes and used bits from all of them, I think, but mostly followed this one. I used a bread stuffing instead of wild rice, which I didn't have handy. My goose was frozen and thawed, not fresh, and still a little icy inside, so I cooked at 350F. I used a spice rub of salt, sage, and thyme, rubbing it on the breast and the back of the bird. Cooking breast-side down for the first half and then turning it worked really well, especially since my bird was still frosty. The skin came out very crispy and caramel colored. The meat was tender and moist. For the gravy, I used the giblet broth plus some vegetable broth and some white wine, all of which came together nicely. Great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We made this for Xmas and it was so good!! I love the stuffing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
substituted the hazelnuts for almonds, and this was great, and goose for capon. I cooked the rice al dente and this allowed it to soak in the flavour. A big hit with my picky relatives!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dstaup
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
First time ever roasting or earing goose for me. It was delicious! I added mushrooms,dried cranberries and used thyme and sage since I didn't have savory. Really good and would use the Recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
My husband made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. The goose was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
i like this very much. the wild rice was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
wonderful new taste. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe, but our 11 lb goose took 5 hours instead of 3, and yes, it was fully defrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The stuffing came out very yummy! I put the extra in the microwave and served it on the side, not as good as the in-bird stuffing. Ours wasn't too fatty, I think the secret is taking out the pad of fat that is just inside the goose before cooking. We brined our goose for 24 hours in a turkey brine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States