Roast Goose with Port Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We have never had goose before. I got an Excellent deal at the market for this after holidays meat. I cooked it the way it was writen but did not use the wine hence the 4 stars. My family Really enjoyed this goose! Hubby and I thought it tasted like a rich steak. My skin was not quite as crisp as I would have liked but I guees maybe I did something a bit wrong. I forgot to pour boiling water over it. Maybe thats what happend. I was using a sheet pan to cook it in and wanted to collect the fat for later use. Thank you Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The goose was fantastic! I made it for my annual Christmas party and it was utterly demolished. I don't think a pack of coyotes could have left a cleaner set of bones! We made two major changes: First, I put a traditional cornbread stuffing with chopped carrots, celery, and onion in the cavity instead of what they suggested. Second, the gravy didn't turn out very well by out family's gravy standards, so very little of that was consumed. However, a guest discovered that the goose was ABSOLUTELY AWESOME when eaten with a bite of the spinach artichoke dip. Who knew?!?! We will definitely make this again... Just skip the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzy'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Taking all other reviews into account, I had the confidence that I would make a perfect goose my very first time. I followed the very clear instructions step by step. I removed my goose from the oven as soon as the thermometer registered 80°C, actually closer to 90°C and I was worried that I had overcooked. It turned out that the goose had a fatty, wobbly layer all around that it was hard to get a grip on it with my teeth. No crispy skin and the meat was not dry. Possibly I should've used a different heat setting in my oven other than 3D-fan hot air. Perhaps goose is just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Had to add a little cornstarch to the dressing ebcause it wasn't as think as we liked it, but overall this was the perfect dish. The goose was nice and tender, not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I had never prepared goose before and relied on this recipe. Although it was easy and delicious, there is no way it could serve 10. We scraped every bit of meat from the carcass, and it would serve 4-5 adults. The port gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe for Christmas this year and it was absolutely wonderful. The meat was moist and tender and the skin was crispy. What more could you ask for?m Thanks for the fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I rate this based on the extensive and detailed recipe. I have been roasting a goose for last 40 years and the simple European recipe is still the best. Only salt and caraway rubbed inside and outside. Never pick the skin until the last 30-40 minutes stage of roasting. It holds the precious juices that will come out for the sauce you keep. You collect the clear fat( very precious stuff for roux and even medicinal purpose) every 30 minutes. After you finally prick the meat you add broth from the neck and giblets. (You can fry the liver on the goose fat for the pate).Goose is not done ,until the legs move freely when pushed. Rule is the same as with the rotisserie roasting: do not rush to get the color on the skin. It will get golden when it's time comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
If ANYONE is silly enough to discard goose fat, please discard it my way. The fat from 1 goose (rendered and frozen) will last even a New Orleans cook for a year. It yields the most incredible mouth feel and tase to any dish using oil, and you can't imagine the superior quality of a goose fat roux. The port and sherry are great flavors with this, and adding fresh tarragon makes it even more out of this world. P.S. Way to go.....Saints are 13-0!!!! Laissez les bon temps roulle!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The goose was great. Everyone loved it. It was very moist and the gravy was awesome! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was unbelievably good. The sauce really made the dish. This was my first time cooking a goose and everyone kept telling me that it would be very greasy. It wasn't, it was delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States