Roast Duck with Apple Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Such an easy dinner recipe, great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Eh, I wasn't overly impressed with this. The stuffing was pretty tasty, but I thought the duck itself needed more flavor to cover up the game taste a bit - yes, I know duck by definition should taste game-y, but a nice sauce or more seasoning to the flesh itself could have worked with it and improved on it. I think my next foray into duck I will try to do the classic duck a la orange or maybe the version of Peking Duck that is on the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Turned out yummy! We use the conventional oven at 325 degrees instead. Took a little longer but turned out juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
First time I've had duck that wasn't so greasy I couldn't eat it. The apples in the stuffing we a nice touch, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was my first attempt at duck. I can't really say I was dissapointed with this, due to the fact that its results were my mistakes. First, the duck was very, very rank. So much so, that it was NOT enjoyable. And finally, it takes much work to prepare! This would not have been so, if I could've found my apple corer. (I recruited my family, instead)! Therefore, I can't say that I'll tackle duck again but it is probably not the recipes fault! SOLUTION? My aunt suggested PROPERLY drying the duck, in order for the rankness to dissappear. Despite this, it would've probably been delicious. Especially because the stuffing was YUMMY-fULL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is very good. Duck is not our favorite. But it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers that a duck that size cannot feed four hungry adults. This was for just three people and there wasn't much to go around. Also, a lot of cooks say duck legs and breasts deserve different treatment and I concur. This was my first duck and I loved how the breast meat came out, but not the legs so much. The stuffing is terrific and I followed the recipe faithfully, using a homemade corn bread recipe from a cajun cookbook and mositened with some homemade chicken stock on hand. If I do this again, I may just go with breasts alone and cook the dressing separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Made this dish for wife and I Thanksgiving '05, it was great. really enjoyed apple stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
stuffing was good but way to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States