Roast Duck Legs With Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Thank you so, so much for this recipe! I don't have a ton of experience in the kitchen, I'm competent, but I'm single, so I never cooked all that much until a few months ago when I moved to a new place with a gas stove/oven. Suddenly I find myself inspired. Anyway, duck is one of my very favorites, but I didn't have the courage to attempt it at home. That is until I saw some frozen duck legs at the grocery store recently and thought, 'hey, why not? it's not a whole duck, not a huge commitment.' Did my search on AllRecipes and found your recipe. Tried it tonight and it came out perfectly! So, happy that I can actually cook a good duck dish in my own home. It was so easy, it seems impossible to screw it up. I couldn't find Chinese 5-Spice at my grocery store, so I made my own concoction by combining cinnamon, cumin, coriander, Chinese ginger and coarse-ground pepper (and sea salt). Worked for me! Anyway, I will definitely be making this again and you have given me the courage to try other duck recipes. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was absolutely delicious and very easy to execute. I followed the recipe as is. I did however reduce the sauce further after the 5 min simmer as it looked a bit thin. It resulted in too little sauce in the end. You want as much as possible as this sauce makes the dish. Served it with white wine risotto. Making it again for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved the cooking method for this duck and will do again. I had two duck legs, so I used an 8x8 pan, and only had dried rosemary. I put about a Tbsp of olive oil, with rosemary and five unpeeled garlic cloves (I was afraid they would burn without the peel and they almost did anyway)on the bottom of the pan. Baked as directed. I used chipotle jam (no currant jelly) and added a bit of agave syrup for sweetness to the red wine mixture. The sauce really did add a nice flavor to the duck; I also added the drippings, after I poured off the fat, with rosemary to the sauce, ummm, ummm good! (Only problem was I used kosher salt on the duck and it was a bit too salty; stick to sea salt or use less next time.) Overall very good! Thank you for the recipe seattlelove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Followed this exactly and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
The wine I used was kind of dry, so I added a little bit more of the jelly/jam. Ran out of the five-spice powder, so I also substituted it with a little bit of mixed herbs. It still turned out really good. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cianne
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I didn't have the Chinese spice so I mixed Herbs De Provence with the finely chopped Garlic and Rosemary. I also cooked a whole duck (put some of the spices inside the duck while cooking. For the wine sauce I used a blackberry port and raspberry/blackberry jelly. This was a great meal for three or four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I skipped the five-spice powder and used an herb mix instead. The sauce is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Che Aya
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was absolutely fabulous!!!!! The sauce is delicious. Try it on Cornish Hen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States