Roast Chicken with Thyme and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Very, very good!! Very moist and the lemon, thyme and onions gave it a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very bland for our tastes. But very juicy. Was able to use chicken in other dishes without altering flavors of them. A good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very delicious! I used one large chicken and roasted it at 350 for about an hour and 45 minutes, it was perfectly juicy. I added potatoes and put the onion in the cavity. I also put some thyme under the skin. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made one chicken and I did add a couple more spices, like paprika and rosemary. I know of no chicken that cooks in a half hour. Maybe my oven is slow, mine was done in almost two hours. That aside, this was a moist and flavorful chicken that my family darn near inhaled. I loved how simple it was and how it really didn't need too much babysitting. This recipe was a winner, as most chickens cooked with citrus in the cavity are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
this was good...a little too lemony for my liking...next time I will leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very tasty and moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I used dried thyme instead of fresh, and I know it made a huge difference. Instead of bursting with flavor, the chicken was so mild I used the leftovers in a Mexican dish the next evening. I'll definitely make this again with fresh thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I also love seasoning roasted chicken with thyme! It pairs so naturally with chicken. Followed recipe except I used a nearly 6-lb. chicken so I roasted at 375 for close to two hours, and I quartered the lemons that were stuffed into the cavity. Chicken came out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T the first time making it - and it earned a 4 star from me and my roommate. i've since made this about 5 or 6 times, and now I just wing it - nothing is measured - and it always comes out delicious. I took Barb's advice and stuffed the mixture under the skin as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was very good. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I altered the recipe a bit. I did stuff the cavity with lemons ( I cut them in quarters), shallots and onion. I did also stuff some thyme twig and all in the cavity. The changes I made were I chopped shallots, onion, and tore off the thyme leaves and stuffed this under the skin with a few lemon slices. Then I olive oiled the outside and added plenty of garlic and onion powder. During baking I basted. Very flavorful and the shallots and onions under the skin cooked so it was soft and sweet to eat. The lemon slices from the skin I didn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States