Roast Chicken with Thyme and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
this was PERFECT! I roasted a local, Amish-raised chicken, it was extra succulent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Great roast chicken recipe. I had an extra half-lemon in my fridge, so I sliced it up and stuffed it under the skin along with the thyme, which infused it with a wonderful lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent flavor! My chickens were quite a bit larger than 2.5 lbs (closer to 5 per, I think), so I had to cook them quite a bit longer than instructed, and at a lower temperature so I didn't kill the outside before the inside was ready - probably about 90 minutes at 350. This is also a great recipe for leftover chicken to use in other recipes, as the flavors aren't too strong or distinctive to blend well with other things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GumboGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe for a standard roast chicken - the herbs and lemon really standout. The only caution I have for cooks is to make sure you use a larger bird. I made this with a small bird and whiel the meat wasn't done until the directions, the bird came out fairly dry. If you are going to do a small bird, make sure to tent the bird with foil and baste to keep it moister. This is what I should have done, and will do the next time I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I'm not a great cook, so I wasn't sure how this would go. But it worked great! I had a pack of 5 chicken thighs with skin and bones. I ended up slicing up a lemon and putting each thigh on a lemon slice and tucking a sprig or two of thyme under the skin on top. I sprinkled about 5 or 6 cloves of garlic and a quatered onion around the chicken. I didn't have shallots, so I just omitted them. I kept checking the chicken until it looked done (maybe 20 min) and while it was resting I reduced the liquid into a sauce (after spooning off the excess oily) Next time I'll try a whole chicken and see if the lemon is more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family loved this recipe. By far the best baked chicken I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Great taste. We don't use butter and the chicken was fine without it. Didn't know what was meant by "line with thyme sprigs" so I tucked some under the skin and put more inside with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
The onions were good, but the chicken was unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States